WEP keys
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: WEP keys

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,199

    WEP keys

    hey guys,
    I have a problem that I need some help with. One of our clients has a wireless network andsomething happend to one of their computers and it can no longer connect to the network. I cant rejoin becasue these guys do not have the WEP keys. they are using a linksys wmp11 wireless card anda linksys router. Im looking for a way to "capture" the wep keys from the other machiens on the netork, any ideas? please PM me with info becasue the last thing I want is a bunch of skript kiddies to learn how to capture weps and then brag about how they "hacked" a wireless network. thanks in advanced.
    Everyone is going to die, I am just as good of a reason as any.

    http://think-smarter.blogspot.com

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    297
    So what your saying is your client does not have the wep keys they enetered into the wireless router. It would probly be much simpler to reset the WEP key within the wireless router than to spend the time sniffing the network for the unique packets to crack the wep encryption.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,199
    yea, Im going to have to crack their admin passowrd on the router also so Im going to research both, and see which is easier. they dont have the password on the router either. I do have access to all machienes on the network, and they are trying to get ahold of their old IT guy to see if he has the password somewhere or the keys. cracking the password will probably be easier considering how advanced these people are it is going to be something stupid. tomorrow will be the first time I try so Im just loading up for the worst case stuff. LOLthey are paying my company more then it would cost to replace the freaking router.
    Everyone is going to die, I am just as good of a reason as any.

    http://think-smarter.blogspot.com

  4. #4
    King Tutorial-ankhamun
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    897
    The router should have a pin hole switch to reset it to factory defaults. That should take a lot less time then using Airsnort to break wep. Besides, have you gone to a known working box and tried and app like Snitch ( http://ntsecurity.nu/toolbox/snitch/ ) to turn the asterisks into plain text and get the key that way?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,199
    yea if anything ill do the reset. they are all xpmachiens so snitch wont work, thanks anyway..
    Everyone is going to die, I am just as good of a reason as any.

    http://think-smarter.blogspot.com

  6. #6
    Macht Nicht Aus moxnix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Huson Mt.
    Posts
    1,752
    Irongeek gave you the best method to use. After resetting the router you will be able to set it up like you want it encluding admin password and wep keys. You will then know it is set up right.
    \"Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, Champagne in one hand - strawberries in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming WOO HOO - What a Ride!\"
    Author Unknown

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    772
    Cracking the WEP key is more fun...
    The above sentences are produced by the propaganda and indoctrination of people manipulating my mind since 1987, hence, I cannot be held responsible for this post\'s content - me

    www.elhalf.com

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,199
    My company doesnt want me to reset the router becasue then I have to set up their entire network again. so Im cracking the wep.
    Everyone is going to die, I am just as good of a reason as any.

    http://think-smarter.blogspot.com

  9. #9
    King Tutorial-ankhamun
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    897
    How many nodes are we talking about?

  10. #10
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,883
    You do understand how much traffic is needed to crack WEP right? Also, being a corporate environment, do they realize the security implications of a static WEP key solution?

    I would roll with EAP-FAST with WPA.
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides