my firewalls wont start
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: my firewalls wont start

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    3

    Question my firewalls wont start

    I used to use the zonelabs free firewall but a few days ago when I tried to open it it wouldn't start. I tried reinstalling zonelabs and I could open it, but it gave me a warning that the true vector internet security shut down, I tried restarting it, but it shut down again. Also, any time I try to change the settings of zonelabs, they reset (like checking "protect the zonealarm client" to on, it turns back off) Since zonealarm had failed to work, I downloaded the Sygate free firewall and installed it, the problem is I can't even get it to open. I click on the icon and nothing happens, even after waiting several minutes.
    Coincidentally, I found something on the adaware search that supposedly compromises the system security. Can anyone help?

  2. #2
    AFLAAACKKK!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,066
    It sounds to me like you got yourself a nasty virus/worm. There are many of them that will go after your firewall and AV. Have you tried updating and running your AV both in normal mode and safe mode?
    I am the uber duck!!1
    Proxy Tools

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    3
    I just did that, i ran Spybot S&D and adaware in safe mode, each twice, but it still showed up in my second adaware search after I deleted it in the first search.

  4. #4
    AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5,197
    It would be really useful for us to know waht it was you found in that Ad-Aware scan.
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....
    \"A nation that draws too broad a difference between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting done by fools.\" - Thucydides

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    28
    It could be some virus.
    But i had this a while ago.
    when i used regclean, the problem was gone

    Also try these links
    http://housecall.trendmicro.com/ (online virusscanner)
    http://www.majorgeeks.com/ (lots of free programs against spy/mal/ad-ware
    http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/ (homepage of csShredder and HiJackThis)

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    3
    Vendor: Windows
    Category: Vulnerability
    Object Type: RegData
    Size: -
    Location: SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon "Shell" ()
    Last Activity: 8-6-2004
    Risk Level: Low
    Comment: Shell Possibly Compromised

    Description
    General Windows Security Issue. Your system security may be compromised.
    Root Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •