what's the matter with my firewall
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: what's the matter with my firewall

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    15

    what's the matter with my firewall


    sometimes my firewall will be down without any reason,and i restart it,but no effect
    finally i connect my notepad to it and restart it again,this time i do nothing but it becomes
    normal

    some one could give me any suggestions? thanks

  2. #2
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    724
    What firewall? What operating system? It will help people help you faster if you are a little more detailed.
    When death sleeps it dreams of you...

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    15
    yes,i'm sorry not to metion them.
    the firewall is a cisco product,the PIX version is 6.1<4>
    eth0 is the outside port,eth1 is the inside port and eth2 is the dmz port

    when it went down i did nothing to it,and it went back to normal i still did nothing but only
    restart it twice, and the second time i connected my notepad to it but did nothing

    it's really strange and happened before, the suitation was all the same.

  4. #4
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    I hope you mean laptop, notepad makes me think of that shitty little editor in windows....

    Any logs? Configure syslog on the PIX and keep an eye on the logs.

    What exactly do you mean by "down"?
    Outside interface? Inside interface? DMZ interface? The PIX itself? Can you still use the console? Do you have a support contract? Tried calling them?
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    15
    i'm sorry not making it clear,the 'down' means that we can't go outside,there's only a local lan left,and by the way,how can i configure the syslog? i'm a freshman,so i'm not very clear with the firewall.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    4,055
    notepad makes me think of that shitty little editor in windows....
    Blah! I like notepad for writing batch files, what's so wrong with it?
    Space For Rent.. =]

  7. #7
    Senior Member IKnowNot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    792
    Blah! I like notepad for writing batch files, what's so wrong with it?
    Donít know, I havenít used it since win 3.1. Iíve heard it has gotten better since then.
    I started using DomiNOTE back then and never had a reason to look back.
    " And maddest of all, to see life as it is and not as it should be" --Miguel Cervantes

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    469
    Do you have a router or gateway involved or does the firewall directly connect your lan to the internet? Is your firewall also a router? What model is the firewall?

  9. #9
    Member gn0min0mic0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    43
    /quote Blah! I like notepad for writing batch files, what's so wrong with it? /quote

    eh, everyone knows Edit is the preferred method for writing batch files... :-P

  10. #10
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    I never got past edlin

    i'm sorry not making it clear,the 'down' means that we can't go outside,there's only a local lan left,and by the way,how can i configure the syslog? i'm a freshman,so i'm not very clear with the firewall.
    Go to http://www.cisco.com in the search (top right hand corner) type "PIX syslog".
    (there's something wrong with pasting long urls so I cannot give you the exact url)
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •