Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: wifi hotel security?

wifi hotel security?

Hi there,

I'll be staying in a hotel offering wireless internet access next week. I'm concerned about my security. Obviously I have file sharing disabled, but I am worried that my passwords could be compromised. Does anyone know if hotels standardly use encryption, or if I'll be sending my data in clear text across this network? I've never used wireless in a hotel before, and I'd really like to, but I am worried.

King Tutorial-ankhamun
    If your work place has a VPN just tunnel through it and you should be ok. What kind of applications will you be using that would pass a password across the network?

It may have changed since I was in and out of hotels/motels a lot, but I found that most hotels that offer WIFI do not use any encryption. Most of them will provide a log on screen that allows you to access their system but that is all.

Before I would use any wireless connection (even my own) I would have a good AV and Firewall set up on my own system. I would have all unnessesary services disabled, and of course netbios disabled. I would not use online banking or order anything online using a credit card or electronic check. All of my passwords would be long and difficult and I would change them after leaving the hotel.

Basically just use common sense and be paranoid.
    \"Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, Champagne in one hand - strawberries in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming WOO HOO - What a Ride!\"
    Author Unknown

I would have thought they would have some form of security otherwise anyone could just log on and not have to pay for it!

I stayed at one last weekend, all I had to do was buy a voucher from them (you can use a credit card though) and they give you the SSID and a WEP key to use.