Thread: Ai?

Lightbulb AI?

I'm new to AntiOnline and this is my first post, so as way of an introduction I thought I'd share some thoughts that I have had due to a number of recent films.

After seeing "I, Robot" and "The Matrix", I began to think, what is AI? I know that the dictionary deffinition is that it is the "abbreviation of artificial intelligence" and that the dictionary deffinition of artificial intelligence is "the performance by computer systems of tasks normally requiring human intelligence.

Although my point is what does this actually mean? From the deffinition, artificial intelligence could mean anything, as it only states that the computer system has to perform a task that 'normally' requires human intelligence, it does not say that the computer system has to have the intelligence of a human to have AI.

Films such as "I, Robot" and "The Matrix" would have us believe that if a computer has AI then it is as intelligent as a human, and therefore can take-over the world . Whereas microsoft create games, such as Conflict: Desert Storm, and advertise them as having AI. I quote "Unprecedented AI governs enemy and squad behaviour". Although when we see statements such as the one above we don't contemplate that this game could take over the world or do our homework or pass a degree or that the game is as intelligent as ourselves.