Windows 2000 logon error
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Windows 2000 logon error

  1. #1

    Windows 2000 logon error

    Hey guys, I hope someone here could help me resvole this issue i'm having here at work.
    I recieved a call from a user at a workstation saying they could not log on to the network with an error saying the password was mistyped (check the caps lock) etc. I logged in with dameware so i could try out the password on the account that was given to me. The password did not work for even me. I tried logging on to the account from my workstation and again it did not work. I reset the account and the account password and even after changing the password I still could not logon and it gave me the same error message. I thought this was very strange.



    Can anyone help me resolve this issue without creating a new account for the user?


    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5,197
    Just a thought....

    Were they logging into the domain or the local machine?
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....
    \"A nation that draws too broad a difference between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting done by fools.\" - Thucydides

  3. #3
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    Hmmm,

    I have never come across this with Win 2000 but I vaguely remember something similar with NT4.0

    1. Are you using roaming profiles?
    2. Do you have fixed profiles?..........like that User ID and password will only work from that desktop.........in which case you will have to get the user to try the new password from their workstation.

    If it were NT4.0 (remember Win2K is just MS marketing speak for NT 5.0, they are very similar) I would say that you have a corrupt roaming profile, assuming that you are using them.

    It might work if you logon at the user machine with the network cable unplugged..........it won't like it and give you error messages, then the chance to log on with the local profile.........you need to be patient, it takes its time as I recall. Take that option and you should get into the local machine. Change the password (that should update the local profile) then plug back into the network, then log off.

    You should then get a message along the lines of " your local profile is newer than your roaming profile....etc....do you want to update it"............say yes, power down then power back up and (hopefully) you should be able to get back in.

    Not sure if that helps, otherwise you are going to have to create a new user account AFAIK.

    Cheers

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    460
    what exactly was the error message??

    another thing to look at is the possibility that too many bad passwords was entered and the account locked out...
    [gloworange]find / -name \"*your_base*\" -exec chown us:us {} \\;[/gloworange] [glowpurple]Trust No One[/glowpurple][shadow] Use Hardened Gentoo [/shadow]
    CATAPULTAM HABEO. NISI PECUNIAM OMNEM MIHI DABIS, AD CAPUT TUUM SAXUM IMMANE MITTAM

  5. #5
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    Hi, Djscribble,

    I reset the account and the account password
    That should have cleared the too many failed passwords problem, shouldn't it...........it used to do with NT4.0?

    Cheers

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    421
    What does event viewer say?
    Are you logging failed attempts?
    Did the SID get jacked?
    Did the user get removed from "access this computer from the network" or "log on locally" policies?

  7. #7

    More Details

    Well, The user was trying to log into a domain. Here is a question.... after the password was reset to company default..... does it need a reboot? that might have been the issue it might have needed to reboot to update the sam file. It wasn't too many bad attempts because that would cause the user to locked out totally it would pause for 30 seconds to prevent any brute force.

    Also, I tried logging into the local machine and through the domain but neither worked. Given I was using Dameware remote desktop software but that would have nothing to do with it that just means the user was on the network to me... and I could see everything the user was doing while trying password attempts i also had the user try the new password also.

    still stumped.

  8. #8
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    If you cannot log into the local machine, locally, then that is where your problem is..........the local PC is screwed...............you will most probably have to do a re-install.

    Try getting the user to boot the machine whilst NOT connected to the network........they should try the old password, then the new.

    Cheers

  9. #9
    AO Guinness Monster MURACU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    paris
    Posts
    1,003
    There is no need to reboot after changing the password. As has been asked is the account a local or roaming type account. I am not sure if you answered this but did you try to log into your computer with the users account or get the user to try logging on another computer? If they can log on another computer then you may have a corrupte profile.
    \"America is the only country that went from barbarism to decadence without civilization in between.\"
    \"The reason we are so pleased to find other people\'s secrets is that it distracts public attention from our own.\"
    Oscar Wilde(1854-1900)

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,130
    if u are using "old" domain structure (a.k.a. Windows NT 4 domain servers), and have more than one server/location, you must force resync of all servers. Otherwise, You changed password on PDC but when you try to logon, BDC (with old pwd) answer and get wrong one.
    Meu sítio

    FORMAT C: Yes ...Yes??? ...Nooooo!!! ^C ^C ^C ^C ^C
    If I die before I sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to encrypt.
    If I die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to brake.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •