Creating my own proxy
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Creating my own proxy

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    68

    Creating my own proxy

    i was wondering if some1 tells me how to create my own proxy in Linux
    i'm using redhat 8
    hope that anybody can help..

  2. #2
    King Arana: Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    4,055
    Well, it depends on a few things. If you have more than one box, you can connect to the other box and do it that way or you can connect to a proxy server. Once connected, all web activities will be logged under that IP (for instance, connecting to a webserver will now be under that IP).
    Space For Rent.. =]

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    723
    Look into squid, it is rock solid. The config file is a little intimidating >2000 lines (mostly comments) but it is very good proxy that can do just about anything, throw in adzap and surfing is beauty.
    http://www.squid-cache.org/

    bffilter and middleman are also alternatives that are very easy to set up.
    Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.
    The international ban against torturing prisoners of war does not necessarily apply to suspects detained in America\'s war on terror, Attorney General John Ashcroft told a Senate oversight committee
    -- true colors revealed, a brown shirt and jackboots

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    25
    There is a nice HowTo written on the subject (www.tldp.org). Squid is indeed one of the better proxy servers for Linux. For Windows and small network use I would recommend FreeProxy, because it functions good and, well, it's free .
    There are 10 kinds of people, those who can read binary, and those who can\'t.

  5. #5
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Do you want to run/use a proxy or do you want to program your own?
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    68
    run.. but not for Lan... !! i want to SETUP it here n Egypt and access it from UAE because they BLOCK most of Security sites there can i do it !! with freeproxy !!

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    68
    and i have heard about STONEproxy for linux !!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    634
    Will that not get you in a lot of trouble if your caught? but you'd probably wanna tunnel your traffic over ssl.

    would a VPN work in this circumstance? between you and your mate in UAE?

    Egypts a wicked country BTW.

    i2c

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    68
    No troubles.. !! i want to make it as if am using a Anonymous proxy.. !!
    i tried freeproxy and i configured it but it didn't work... ( i checked it with http://defcon.one.pl/checker ) and it

    this was the result :
    No. IP ort Anon SSL Alters User-Agent Latency Country HTTP_VIA field
    1 XXX.XXX.XXX:8080 Yes Elite No 0.852 Egypt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides