CERT Recommends SP2 But Urges Caution
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: CERT Recommends SP2 But Urges Caution

  1. #1
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126

    CERT Recommends SP2 But Urges Caution

    -Simon \"SDK\"

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    i heard if you have any adware/spyware running on you system at the time you do the update the system will freeze. with the amount of folks getting infected daily that know jack-diddlie squat about adware i really cant see how ms can recommend keeping auto-updater turned on.
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

  3. #3
    er0k
    Guest
    does anyone know of any new hidden spyware within service pack 2, i mean - **** that collects info without blatantly asking?

    For instance, windows media player did or does have something like that.. ?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    195
    And this auto-updater is no good also, It failed to notice service pack for .net framework for good two days till i had to use same old windowsupdate website in same old fashioned way. And same was case with SP2.
    Now that's something ridiculous, isn't it? as it was mentioned as 'only way ' to get update.
    But it do have a good feature of resuming broken download, i like it.
    It\'s all about sense of power.

  5. #5
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    724
    I dind't have any problems with it saying I needed to update the .net platform. Did you go to the other updates besides SP2 option?
    When death sleeps it dreams of you...

  6. #6
    Custom User
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    503
    muert0, that was his point. He was saying that he needed the update for the .NET framework and the updater didn't realise that he needed it. That meant that he had to go and manually download it.

    (Don't know anything about it...just clarifying)

    ac

  7. #7
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    As i understand it WU scans the registry to see if you have applied the update.

    This flawed as you may have installed another program that has actually over written one of the updates .dlls and WU would not recognize that you need the update again.

    Last I heard was MS was working to coorect the problem with dll comparisson software such as HFNetCHK by SHAVLIK actually does the dll comparission ...returning more "accurate" results.

    HTHs

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides