just like AOL
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: just like AOL

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    51

    just like AOL

    just wondering...

    since we can make our own acct in AOL and use it even if ur not in the US, can we also use another dial up account from the US e.g bellsouth, AT&T, or earthlink here in the Phils..you knw just like as we can do with AOL?

    thanks...
    juicy`peanut

  2. #2
    The Iceman Cometh
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,209
    You can, but I really wouldn't recommend it. The advantage to AOL (the only one, as far as I'm concerned) is that they have local access numbers across the world. Other US-based service providers don't even have local access numbers across the entire United States. While you can theoretically dial-up to a number in the US to access the Internet, I think that the phone charges alone are enough to deter anyone from even considering that option. I had SBC DSL for quite some time and they offered free dial-up numbers when I was away from my home so I could still get online. THe problem was, however, that all of the numbers were West Coast numbers, which means that if I was anywhere east of say Nevada or Arizona, I'd have to pay the phone charges to dial-up to an out-of-state number. I thought *that* was expensive. Can you imagine what you'd pay if you dialed the US to access the Internet from the Phillipines?

    AJ

  3. #3
    ...unless of course YOU're not paying for the phone charges
    Dyn/Gnosis ~ Powerful/Knowledge
    www.Dyngnosis.com
    Tutorials - Site Penetration Logs - (TheCommunity)Forums - Toolss

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    51

    Talking

    no of course not im just gonna look for fresh cards online to do it
    juicy`peanut

  5. #5
    BS, EnCE, ACE, Cellebrite 11001001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Just West of Beantown, though nobody from Beantown actually calls it "Beantown."
    Posts
    1,229
    Originally posted here by juicypeanut
    no of course not im just gonna look for fresh cards online to do it


    and this will accomplish what???



    That's Officer 11001001 to you...
    Now you see me | Now you don't
    "Relax, Bender; It was just a dream. There's no such thing as two." ~ Fry
    sometimes my computer goes down on me

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    51
    oh nothing...just kidding.. i dont wanna pay bills!

    peace
    juicy`peanut

  7. #7
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    I am not sure if I understand your question..........

    Over here you can have an account with an ISP and dial them toll free from anywhere......you just pay the monthly ISP charge.

    Otherwise you can have a "free" account with the ISP and pay your Telco for the connection time......they then share the money out with the ISP

    DSL is a monthly charge, but only works from your telephone line.................there are no usage/connection costs.

    For wireless I just have to go to the local railway station...............it is a free public service

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •