Broadband sharing through a hub
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Broadband sharing through a hub

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    35

    Broadband sharing Threw A hub

    can someone tell me if i can share my broadband connection threw a hub and if so is it less secure ? im wanting to connect three computers.

  2. #2
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    724
    A thread for you to read. It also has a good link to another thread that explains a little more.
    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...ght=hub+router
    If you're looking to securely connect the computers get a router.
    Here's a tutorial on building a home network and an index list of tutorials on AO if you wanna browse through it.
    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...hreadid=228148
    http://www.neg.be/index/
    When death sleeps it dreams of you...

  3. #3
    King Tutorial-ankhamun
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    897
    You can, but you will have to get more than one ip from your ISP (which will most likely cost more money) or put another box in front of the hub that does NAT (a Linux box using IP masquerading, a Windows box using ICS or a broadband router).

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    77
    i say screw the hub just go out and use a router

  5. #5
    King Tutorial-ankhamun
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    897
    I would have to agree with silent-mage, you can get one for around $30 off NewEgg:
    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...roperty&DEPA=0

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    171
    With the basic cost difference between a router and a hub, it would be a good idea to get a router. Yes it can be done, sharing your broadband with nothing but a hub, but as Irongeek pointed out, your ISP will be aware of (and therefore most likely charge you for) the additional machines, and more importantly, so will the rest of the internet. Yes it is far less secure (IMHO). Point of fact, if you connect them this way, you will be relying totally on your systems OS for security. Not impossible to secure, but tough at best.

    Here is a quick and simple page to explain it.
    http://www.homenethelp.com/web/howto...ternet-hub.asp
    ~ I'm NOT insane! I've just been in a bad mood for the last 30 years! ~ Somepeople are like Slinky's: Not good for anything, but the thought of pushing them down the stairs brings a smile to your face!

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    17
    if you don't mind paying the extra price as MrCoffee pointed out, then a hub would work. As a college student myself, I find the best way to use a router with traffic/bandwidth shapping for the entire house so then we can't bitch @ each other about "you are hogging all the bandwidth" etc....Security is another issue.....Router might be more secure then your average computer. keyword MIGHT which depends on releases by the manufacturer, etc.......or just knowledge of how to lock down a computer.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    35

    Router

    So when you use a router do you have to call you isp or is that just whith the hub ?

  9. #9
    King Tutorial-ankhamun
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    897
    With a router it should be transparent and just look like a computer hooked to the cable modem network, but sometime problems happen. I know Insight (my cable company) has no problems with users using routers, but in one case recently I had to call them up and have them register it manually because their software for registering was ****ing up.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    although you'd be far better off from a security standpoint with a router you can still use a hub to connect multiple computer to the internet. set up ICS (internet connection sharing) on one computer then point the others to it as a gateway. older systems (9.x) require a ICS client. i assume where talking windows because nothing else was mentioned and windows contains everything required to do this and all the info you need can be found in the help files. the only computer requiring an internet IP address will be the one you use as a gateway so theres no need to call your isp.
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •