hiding AIM
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: hiding AIM

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    14

    hiding AIM

    just wondering if there is any program or tweak you can make to aim or GAIM that allows you to hide all IM windows? for example if you're at work and you want to hide aim and not let any new msgs pop up on your screen.

    thanks
    ~jim~

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    281
    First I would like to tell you to be careful. Chatting with a buddy ain't worth losing you job over. Also, a sys admin can tell if you are chatting on AIM.

    But here is a proggy that works like that with a keystroke it hides and with a keystroke it appears.
    http://www.iconcave.com/item.php?type=p&id=7&load=1

    - MilitantEidolon
    Yeah thats right........I said It!

    Ultimately everyone will have their own opinion--this is mine.

  3. #3
    HeadShot Master N1nja Cybr1d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,840
    You can always right click on AIM, then click on "exit" then wait until you get home to use it.

    [joke]LOL then they blame it on Bush if they lose their job [/joke]

  4. #4
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,884
    Here is the thing. Hiding the icon will only stop a human from seeing it on your desktop. All I have to do as an admin is look at traffic destine for oscar.aol.com on port 5190 and you are PWN3D. Don't be a dumbass, your admins will see your IM traffic no matter what you hide at the desktop level.
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    14
    I know it just hides the screen, I realize anyone can view the traffic. Thanks for the link MilitantEidolon, thats exactly what I was looking for. we use AIM at my office for work and I get 20 ims at once sometimes and I need to not have it interrupting my coding all day. So if I can hide it and view the msgs when I'm done what I'm working on that would help me out alot.

    thanks
    ~jim~

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    281
    First I would like to tell you to be careful. Chatting with a buddy ain't worth losing you job over. Also, a sys admin can tell if you are chatting on AIM.
    Here is the thing. Hiding the icon will only stop a human from seeing it on your desktop. All I have to do as an admin is look at traffic destine for oscar.aol.com on port 5190 and you are PWN3D. Don't be a dumbass, your admins will see your IM traffic no matter what you hide at the desktop level.
    You can always right click on AIM, then click on "exit" then wait until you get home to use it.
    Just wanted you to see the responses on the idea.

    - MilitantEidolon
    Yeah thats right........I said It!

    Ultimately everyone will have their own opinion--this is mine.

  7. #7
    I'd rather be fishing DjM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    1,867
    Originally posted here by cobain_attacks
    we use AIM at my office for work and I get 20 ims at once sometimes and I need to not have it interrupting my coding all day.
    This may be stating the obvious, but why not just turn the damm thing off when your coding

    Cheers:
    DjM

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    14
    because I have to have it on for tech support issues I'm the programming contact for tech support. and they want me to keep it on
    ~jim~

  9. #9
    I'd rather be fishing DjM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    1,867
    Originally posted here by cobain_attacks
    because I have to have it on for tech support issues I'm the programming contact for tech support. and they want me to keep it on
    But when your hiding the messages, isn't it rather pointless even having it on?

    Cheers:
    DjM

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    14
    not at all....
    I dont want msgs popping up when I'm in the middle of writing a line of code

    how annoying would this be... exit AIM, start coding, Start AIM, check msgs, Exit Aim, start coding (lose all conversations I was just having) etc...
    its alot nicer to click CNRL + Y to get back and fourth.
    ~jim~

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •