Network Adapter probem!! Urgent!!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Network Adapter probem!! Urgent!!

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    109

    Network Adapter probem!! Urgent!!

    Hi there ppl!

    2 hours ago the power went off in my house twice just for 1m or so, the first time i had my PC on and the second time off.

    A whille ago my father turn is on to access the net, but he hadnt access.

    I checked the connections and his Network Adapter is sending but not reciving, wich is normal if the Network connection was lost and i had to make a new one, i did that on his, but in mine, the network adapter is not sending or reciving. I tried moving the Network Adpater to another PCI slot, plug and unplug the cable ( this is a crosslink connection <--> direct cable without router ), and nothing, the Network Adapter has its green line on, it seams normal but nothing..it should be sending right? even if the network wasnt configured..

    I dont know what to do anymore i just bought this one last week after the other burn over a stormy night..what can i do?

    Thanx
    Owmen

  2. #2
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi,

    I would try your network adapter in your father's machine and see if the power loss and subsequent surge has killed it. Also try your fater's adapter in your machine.

    You might consider investing in a surge protection block as well?

    Cheers

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    109
    The "funny" thing is that in the DOS command line when i do ping 192.168.0.1 it appers normal.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Versão 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Luis>ipconfig

    Configuração IP do Windows


    Adaptador ethernet Ligação de área local 3:

    Sufixo DNS específico da ligação. :
    Endereço IP . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Máscara de sub-rede . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Gateway predefinido . . . . . . . :

    Adaptador ethernet Ligação de área local:

    Sufixo DNS específico da ligação. : netcabo.pt
    Endereço IP . . . . . . . . . . . : 213.22.130.243
    Máscara de sub-rede . . . . . . . : 255.255.254.0
    Gateway predefinido . . . . . . . : 213.22.131.254

    C:\Documents and Settings\Luis>ping 192.168.0.1

    A enviar para 192.168.0.1 com 32 bytes de dados:

    Resposta de 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 tempo<1 ms TTL=128
    Resposta de 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 tempo<1 ms TTL=128
    Resposta de 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 tempo<1 ms TTL=128
    Resposta de 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 tempo<1 ms TTL=128

    Estatísticas de ping para 192.168.0.1:
    Pacotes: Enviados = 4, Recebidos = 4, Perdidos = 0 (perda: 0%),
    Tempo aproximado de ida e volta em milissegundos:
    Mínimo = 0ms, Máximo = 0ms, Média = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Luis>ipconfig/all

    Configuração IP do Windows

    Nome do sistema anfitrião. . . . .: neo-n1o31hymvii
    Sufixo DNS principal. . . . . . . :
    Tipo de nó. . . . . . . . . . . . : Desconhecido
    Rota IP activado. . . . . . . . . : Sim
    WINS Proxy activado . . . . . . . : Não

    Adaptador ethernet Ligação de área local 3:

    Sufixo DNS específico da ligação. :
    Descrição . . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
    rnet NIC #2
    Endereço físico . . . . . . . . . : 40-C0-92-80-20-23
    DHCP activado . . . . . . . . . . : Não
    Endereço IP . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Máscara de sub-rede . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Gateway predefinido . . . . . . . :

    Adaptador ethernet Ligação de área local:

    Sufixo DNS específico da ligação. : netcabo.pt
    Descrição . . . . . . . . . . . . : USR6000
    Endereço físico . . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-49-A4-5B-FF
    DHCP activado . . . . . . . . . . : Sim
    Autoconfiguração activada . . . . : Sim
    Endereço IP . . . . . . . . . . . : 213.22.130.243
    Máscara de sub-rede . . . . . . . : 255.255.254.0
    Gateway predefinido . . . . . . . : 213.22.131.254
    Servidor DHCP . . . . . . . . . . : 212.113.164.33
    Servidores DNS. . . . . . . . . . : 212.113.164.58
    212.113.164.50
    212.113.164.59
    212.113.164.51
    Concessão obtida. . . . . . . . . : quarta-feira, 8 de Setembro de 2004
    20:34:45
    Concessão obtida válida até . . . : quarta-feira, 8 de Setembro de 2004
    21:04:45

    C:\Documents and Settings\Luis>ping 192.168.0.1

    A enviar para 192.168.0.1 com 32 bytes de dados:

    Resposta de 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 tempo<1 ms TTL=128
    Resposta de 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 tempo<1 ms TTL=128
    Resposta de 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 tempo<1 ms TTL=128
    Resposta de 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 tempo<1 ms TTL=128

    Estatísticas de ping para 192.168.0.1:
    Pacotes: Enviados = 4, Recebidos = 4, Perdidos = 0 (perda: 0%),
    Tempo aproximado de ida e volta em milissegundos:
    Mínimo = 0ms, Máximo = 0ms, Média = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Luis>

    But in the two tinny computers that apper in the taskbar the lights dont go on..no receive, no sending...weird..

    The Adapter in my Fathers machine works great, it wasnt affected, that is all normal..

    U think it burned? but windows detects it and all, is that possible?
    Owmen

  4. #4
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    That is why I would like you to try your adapter in your father's machine, and his in yours.

    I have experienced a 56.6 modem that was detected by windows and passed all the tests apart from dial tone................a lightning strike had fried the telephone line connector part of it.

    The test I am suggesting will tell you if your network card is OK or not.

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    109
    ill test it now and then be right back and tell u whant happened

    cheers!
    Owmen

  6. #6
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    Man, he is DAMN thorough with his test ..........
    hour and a half and counting .................
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    109
    lol back back, wellllllll...

    It works with the Adapters switched...weird? but it works..the one that didnt work here works there..and the other, was just okay..

    lol i dont know what was rong..but it works so o save 10 bucks! The best one i have costs 70 bucks but the other one shall we say, was "priti priti" cheap!

    Thanx for the helP!!!!
    Owmen

  8. #8
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Well, you can use that $10 to buy a surge protector.

    Thanks for letting us know that the problem is "fixed". I have had the same sort of things with modems and sound/video card combinations. I think that is incompatibility though (even with identical specifications).

    I am guessing, but it sounds as if your BIOS sort of lost the plot slightly and couldn't start your NIC card properly? when you swapped the cards both systems redetected their cards and the problem got fixed.

    Anyway, you are up and running, and that is the main thing.

    Cheers

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    109
    Cheers guys, this forum is really great!! The best database and experts in the net for sure
    Owmen

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •