elite toolbar
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: elite toolbar

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    83

    elite toolbar

    do anyone know how to remove that toolbar?is a spyware/adware.
    i have tried using ad-aware but could not get rid. anyone know how they infected my com?

  2. #2
    StOrM™
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,003
    Try running Spy-Bot (http://www.safer-networking.org/en/mirrors/index.html) choose a mirror of your preference. Dont forget to Update your detection updates you can do this using inbuilt function of update or from here (http://www.spybotupdates.com/updates...d_includes.exe).

    you may Also like to download SpywareBlaster (www.wilderssecurity.net/spywareblaster.html).
    As far as your question about where you got it from, it may be with a P2P programe etc that you must have downloaded from the internet. JUst a question if Adware detects it what error does it give when you direct it to delete the Adware. hope you have the latest version of Adware and its detection updates. if all this fails try the same procedure in SAFE MODE.
    Parth Maniar,
    CISSP, CISM, CISA, SSCP

    *Thank you GOD*

    Greater the Difficulty, SWEETER the Victory.

    Believe in yourself.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    83
    i tried ad-aware with the lastest update but it cant find the adware.
    i just tried the spybot , but it also cant find the adware.

  4. #4
    StOrM™
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,003
    yes i say the database of SPy-Bot but the elite bar is not listed there. did you check add/remove list ...... you can do one thing search your program files folder for the software and delete the same if the above doesnt work. what operating system do you use.
    Parth Maniar,
    CISSP, CISM, CISA, SSCP

    *Thank you GOD*

    Greater the Difficulty, SWEETER the Victory.

    Believe in yourself.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    83
    i tried to remove it from add/remove but the elite toolbar is still working
    window xp

  6. #6
    StOrM™
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,003
    If you use internet explorer and you have installed SP2 go to Tools>Manage Add on's and disable elite also its better you just delete the folder in program files.
    Parth Maniar,
    CISSP, CISM, CISA, SSCP

    *Thank you GOD*

    Greater the Difficulty, SWEETER the Victory.

    Believe in yourself.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    70
    A lot of toolbar spyware wont be cleared by major spyware clearers such as Search and Destroy (in my experience).

    Two programmes you should try:

    Hijack This - more than likely this will do the trick *fingers crossed* - available at http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/

    and

    CWShredder - http://www.spychecker.com/download/d...wshredder.html

    Hope it helps
    # Now if I ever needed inspiration,
    Right about now where I lose my patience,

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    70
    Moissonite,

    CWShredder is for coolwebsearch infections.. and it's really not that all helpful against the latest versions of coolwebsearch..




    however, hijackthis should show up an entry.. it might look like this..


    O3 - Toolbar: &EliteBar - {825CF5BD-8862-4430-B771-0C15C5CA880F} - C:\WINDOWS\EliteBar\EliteBar version 35.dll

    samuel..
    download hijackthis and put it into it's own directory (or folder) like "c:\somefolder\HJT" , don't run it from a temp folder or on your desktop.. this is so that backups made by hijackthis are kept in a safe place. when you run it and put a check mark next to the entry(s) make sure that internet explorer is not running.


    after a reboot, you should delete the folder (and any subfolder) "EliteBar" from under the windows folder. ( C:\WINDOWS\EliteBar and everything under that)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •