Accessing a Windows XP Pro Share in Fedora 2
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Accessing a Windows XP Pro Share in Fedora 2

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    95

    Accessing a Windows XP Pro Share in Fedora 2

    Hey Guys,

    I've been trying to solve this one for a while.

    I have installed Fedora Core 2 on the same HDD as WinXP Pro (dual boot).

    I am wanting to access a drive on the XP (ntfs) partition in Fedora. I have Samba installed and working (can access LAN shares on a network), however i am having troubles with accessing shares on a dual boot. I have 4 partitions in windows, and have shared 'f drive'.

    I have tried a couple of command which tell me samba can not connect. These commands include:

    smbmount //windows/share /linux/mount/point -o
    username=windowsusername,password=windowspassword

    and
    mount -t smbfs //windows/share /linux/mount/point -o
    username=windowsusername,password=windowspassword

    This is quite annoying, as i was able to do it with my old Win98ME (fat32) and RedHat7.1.

    Please help!

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    195
    don't you just have to mount windows partition and access it like a folder rather than using samba to access windows on same hard disk.
    samba is used when you wan to access windows on network (i.e.) other computer.
    It\'s all about sense of power.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    95
    ok, if thats the case, what is wrong with this:

    mount -t ntfs /dev/hda4 /mnt/share

  4. #4
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    724
    http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mj...fc2.shtml#ntfs
    13 June 2004

    Either recompile your kernel for NTFS read support. (Hard)
    Or obtain the matching the proper kernel module. Again make sure
    you have the correct version (example similar to: 2.6.5-1.358).
    Use the 'uname -a' command for more information.

    Go to http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/fedora2.html
    for the module/rpm.
    Go to http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/instructions.html

    for the instructions.

    [root@charon root]# uname -a
    Linux charon 2.6.5-1.358 #1 Sat May 8 09:04:50 EDT 2004 i686 athlon i386 GNU/Linux

    I selected '2.6.5-1.358' 'i686' for my Athlon-XP computer.

    [root@charon root]# rpm -ivh kernel-ntfs-2.6.5-1.358.i686.rpm
    Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
    1:kernel-ntfs ########################################### [100%]
    _______________________________________________________________________________

    The Linux NTFS RPM has been successfully installed.

    Please read the NTFS FAQ if you want to know how to:

    * Mount an NTFS partition
    * Change the permissions/ownership of a mounted NTFS partition
    * Automatically mount an NTFS partition

    FAQ: http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/info/ntfs.html
    RPM: http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/index.html
    SRC: http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/rpmsrc.html
    _______________________________________________________________________________

    Edit /etc/fstab for automatic mounting of NTFS partitions at boot:

    /dev/hda6 /mnt/work ntfs ro,defaults,umask=0222 0 0
    /dev/hda7 /mnt/media ntfs ro,defaults,umask=0222 0 0
    /dev/hda8 /mnt/temp ntfs ro,defaults,umask=0222 0 0
    /dev/hda1 /mnt/win2000 ntfs ro,defaults,umask=0222 0 0

    Run 'fdisk -l /dev/hda' to determine which partitions are NTFS.

    Make sure all the mount points are created, then run 'mount -a' to
    mount all partitions. (ex: 'mkdir /mnt/win2000')
    If you can't understand that let me know and I'll guide you through it step by step if you have some kind of IM service. Preferably yahoo.
    When death sleeps it dreams of you...

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    195
    what muert0 told you that there is nothing with your command but first you to addsupport to you rkernel to read ntfs partition. and command explained above is just that.
    It\'s all about sense of power.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    95
    had to reinstall windows and linux today. now, instead of fedore core 2, im using Mandrake 10. How do you go about getting NTFS support?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    195
    I haven't used mandrake but found this in search , maybe this will help :

    http://mandrakeusers.org/lofiversion...hp/t16134.html

    as I can infer all latest version by reputed vendors have included support for NTFS. So you just have to look in /mnt/
    It\'s all about sense of power.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •