error with the DUN
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: error with the DUN

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    51

    error with the DUN

    hi,

    when i tried to get online a while ago, an error msg popped up, error 721:the remote computer is not responding, have done changing setting on my dial up networking but it still pops up... then when I ctrl-alt-del, I got this:

    c://windows/system32


    any idea what's wrong with it?
    juicy`peanut

  2. #2
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    Well, there are a lot of things that can can cause that message

    Try this Google search:

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&i...=Google+Search

    I am afraid it will be a case of going through the various possibilities until you find the one that applies to you:

    It might help narrow things down if you mentioned your operating system and browser.

    Good luck
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  3. #3
    AntiOnline n00b
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    665
    Hi,

    I get this error message quite often with my dial-up connection.............The ISP Server may be busy or some problrm while trying to set up a dial up connection on the remote computer part.............just try dialing after some time it should connect ..........was it connecting to the remote computer earlier?.

    Most probably there was a problem on the ISP's computer.........try dialing a different ISP number if you have any ..................or a differnt number of the same ISP and see if the problem presists...........Before looking at your computer make sure everithing on the ISP part is ok

    Contact the ISP and ask wherther they have any problem on their Server

    I would suggest just wait for some time and then try to connect again ......if this problem presists for a very long time then it's something to worry about.

    --Good Luck--

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    51
    i got win xp and ie 6...iv been googling bout it, but couldnt find it there, il try SwordFish_13's suggestion then..somebody told me i have a trojan in my pc...i dunno
    juicy`peanut

  5. #5
    AntiOnline n00b
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    665
    hi

    been googling bout it, but couldnt find it there,
    uhm ..............Almighty Google didn't help


    a simple search with the error code and message :---->

    Error 721: Remote PPP peer is not responding.

    This error should only occur due to a glitch on the ISP's end. Reconnecting should fix it. If it occurs regularly and there is no problem at the ISP, reinstall DUN/RAS
    Link
    DUNS ERROR 721

    721 - Remote PPP peer is not responding.

    This error may occur if there is a problem at the ISP. Disconnect, then dial back in. If error 721 persists:

    * Try dialing into a different provider or access number if available

    * Check the properties of, and/or create a new Connectoid

    * Re-install dial-up networking (DUNS) - check Windows' networking properties.

    * If you still have difficulty, enable and examine the PPP Log.

    link
    There are many many more ...must be looking at the wrong google

    --Good luck--

  6. #6
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    The google link I posted takes you to lots of error 721's

    I don't think that the problem is the result of a trojan unless it is corrupt or clashing with something else.

    After all trojans want to connect to the internet?

    Cheers
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    51
    o yeah, already hav checked on the PPP log and unchecked LCP extensions.

    sorry, what d! i mis-typed it...my bad..

    anyways, thanks for the help, i rather have my DUN recreated
    juicy`peanut

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •