Securing my Wireless Broadband

Thread: Securing my Wireless Broadband

Hoopy Frood

Securing my Wireless Broadband

I leave for college this Saturday and will be getting Wireless internet access. I'm a complete noobie when it comes to wireless, so pardon this stupid question. Should I just go about securing my computer just as if it was like DSL or Cable? Like, just keep Windows updated and run a firewall like normal or are there special things you have to do with wireless that do not have to be done with other types of connections? Thanks you in advance.

Regards,
    Xierox
    "Personality is only ripe when a man has made the truth his own."

-- Søren Kierkegaard

AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Are you providing the Wireless access point or is someone else?

If you are providing your own there are plenty of threads here about securing them. If someone else is then you treat it _exactly_ like cable/dsl....

Simple as that....
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....
    \"A nation that draws too broad a difference between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting done by fools.\" - Thucydides

Hoopy Frood
    Ok, thank you, Tiger Shark. I will not be providing it myself. It's provided by the school and all I need is a wireless NIC.

Regards,
    Xierox

-- Søren Kierkegaard

I wouldn't use it at all if others are using it...

A WEP key might prevent people from getting on the network, but AFAIK it can still be sniffed by anyone on the network using the key, so whatever you do can be captured by anyone on the network.

I'm not sure but isn't wireless like a network on hubs?

edit
    You haven't even started school yet? Damn you start late...

Hoopy Frood
    Unfortunately, it's just too big of a temptation to not use it. I've been on 56k all my life. Ya, I start late. I like the quarter system.

Regards,
    Xierox

-- Søren Kierkegaard