IDE Cable Issue
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: IDE Cable Issue

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    5

    IDE Cable Issue

    I'm installing A DVD burner and I have currently got a CD-rom already installed. Is It wise to put the burner on a seperate IDE channel to the hard drive where IDE 1 will have the hard drive and CD-ROM connected to the same channel or is better to have the burner on the same IDE channel as the hard drive. An explanation why which would be better would be a great help....thanks
    Knowledge 2 Knowledge - [ n e r d i f i e d ]

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,024
    Put the DVD on it's own channel on IDE 1 and leave the hard drive on IDE 0. Make sure the hard drive stays connected to the mobo in the same place it started from... It will give you a slight increase in burning speed with the DVD as the master of the second channel. You might want to plug the cd rom drive in as slave on the DVD cable.
    [H]ard|OCP <--Best hardware/gaming news out there--|
    pwned.nl <--Gamers will love this one --|
    Light a man a fire and you\'ll keep him warm for a day, Light a man ON fire and you\'ll keep him warm the rest of his life.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi,

    In a standard configuration you would have your first channel (IDE0) supporting your HDDs and your second channel (IDE1) supporting DVD,CD,ZIP etc.

    You get better performance that way and the system will be more stable.

    On your IDE1 cable have the DVD as master and the CD or whatever as slave.

    I do not believe in mixing devices on the same cable, as strange things can happen. They should be of the SAME type (fixed media v. removeable media)

    Cheers
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  4. #4
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    I almost agree. The thing to watch out for is the transfer modes. Put all UDMA/133 drives together, UDMA/100 together or PIO mode 4 together etc. It doesn't matter if the drive is a removable or not. Just don't mix different transfer modes on the same cable/controller. That's how you get the 'optimal' configuration.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    22
    How is there a slight increase of speed if the Burner is on IDE1 rather than IDE0?

  6. #6
    The Doctor Und3ertak3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,744
    How is there a slight increase of speed if the Burner is on IDE1 rather than IDE0?
    Re-read the reply from the others..

    You can put your HDD on IDE1 if you want to.. ..the speed isn't realy to do with which IDE you put the DVD onto..it is to do with the devices that are on the same channel..
    IF you have the Burner (or any optical drive for that matter) on the same cahnnel as a HDD the channels data speed is slowed to the slowest device.. usualy the Optical device.. And as it is good practice to place the Boot drive on IDE0.. that is why ..
    Also some MoBo's are funny as to where you place your Boot HDD.. the crap cheap ones are the main offenders

    Cheers
    "Consumer technology now exceeds the average persons ability to comprehend how to use it..give up hope of them being able to understand how it works." - Me http://www.cybercrypt.co.nr

  7. #7
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    Just a small point:
    On the MoBo's I've been looking at recently, it's marked as IDE 1 and IDE 2 ..........

    Other than that I set my system up as stated here.

    IDE 1 [0] for the HDD
    IDE 2 [1] for the CD re-writer

    One last thing:
    I have a 'full' sized tower, and when I changed the MoBo, the position of the IDE slots was in a different orientation to the original. And as such, I've had to lower the position of the CD re-writer as the existing IDE cable would no longer reach ........

    Question: is it possible to buy IDE cables longer than those sent as standard ?
    I only need a few inches more [please don't say it] so it's not a life or death issue, just something I would like to know.
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  8. #8
    The Doctor Und3ertak3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,744
    Normaly no to the longer cables with IDE.. It is a specification limitation in the standard. AFIK

    cheers
    "Consumer technology now exceeds the average persons ability to comprehend how to use it..give up hope of them being able to understand how it works." - Me http://www.cybercrypt.co.nr

  9. #9
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    Ah well; I'll just have to make do with what I've got. [Still don't say it]

    Might have to buy a smaller tower case NEXT time ...........
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,024
    You can't have more than 18 inches if it has no slave, no more than 22 if it has slave and master.
    [H]ard|OCP <--Best hardware/gaming news out there--|
    pwned.nl <--Gamers will love this one --|
    Light a man a fire and you\'ll keep him warm for a day, Light a man ON fire and you\'ll keep him warm the rest of his life.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •