Wireless Card
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Wireless Card

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    144

    Wireless Card

    Hi,

    I just bought a new wireless card.. DWL-G520+.. still wondering how can i set it as monitor mode and sniff the network around?
    BlAcKiE
    GearBlitz

  2. #2
    Senior Member kr5kernel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    347
    Linux or Windows?

    for linux check out the linux wireless tools
    http://www.hpl.hp.com/personal/Jean_...nux/Tools.html

    kismet is another sniffer to check out.
    kr5kernel
    (kr5kernel at hotmail dot com)
    Linux: Making Penguins Cool Since 1994.

  3. #3
    the beign of authority kurt_der_koenig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    567
    also for windoze:

    http://www.netstumbler.com

    check the text. it will explain some wardriving to get you started. Also the book Windows Xp hacks http://www.oreilly.com/catalog/winxphks/.This has a section on it.

  4. #4
    King Tutorial-ankhamun
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    897
    I don't think "windoze" has a driver that will put it in RF monitoring mode, boot from a Knoppix STD boot CD and use Kismet or Airsnort to find APs that are not broadcasting their ssid.

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    297
    ok heres your choices. You have a card that is based off a TI acx111 chipset. If your going to have any plug and pray functality you stuck with windows. Dlink does not offer linux drivers for the card that you have and they even point you twards the source forge project for any information about linux drivers for that particular card, along with most of the other + series they offer.
    Unfortuantly because of the chip set your card has it's not going to do primiscous mode or monitor mode. Net stumber should still work within windows to pick up AP (access points) that are within range. You can even load the windows version of ethereal and get it to work with the card. The fact of the matter is the card is going to only be able to pick up local traffic. There are a couple of programs that do monitor mode in windows.airopeek for one, But unfortuantly you have to have one of the same cards that can do it in linux.


    http://acx100.sourceforge.net/matrix.html info about the card and drivers is in the list twards the bottom of the page with the 54mb stuff

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    144
    Originally posted here by spamdies
    ok heres your choices. You have a card that is based off a TI acx111 chipset. If your going to have any plug and pray functality you stuck with windows. Dlink does not offer linux drivers for the card that you have and they even point you twards the source forge project for any information about linux drivers for that particular card, along with most of the other + series they offer.
    Unfortuantly because of the chip set your card has it's not going to do primiscous mode or monitor mode. Net stumber should still work within windows to pick up AP (access points) that are within range. You can even load the windows version of ethereal and get it to work with the card. The fact of the matter is the card is going to only be able to pick up local traffic. There are a couple of programs that do monitor mode in windows.airopeek for one, But unfortuantly you have to have one of the same cards that can do it in linux.


    http://acx100.sourceforge.net/matrix.html info about the card and drivers is in the list twards the bottom of the page with the 54mb stuff
    hey.. based on what u have said.. it seems like i bought a wrong card.. so is there a site that tells.. mi which PCI card to buy so that i can do it at least play sniffing in linux?
    BlAcKiE
    GearBlitz

  7. #7
    King Tutorial-ankhamun
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    897
    Just about anything with a Prism or Hermes chipset should work nicely for 802.11b. Not sure what would be a good 802.11g card.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    144
    i was trying to find a card that is using Prism chipset.. but cannot find.. can someone help?
    BlAcKiE
    GearBlitz

  9. #9
    King Tutorial-ankhamun
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    897
    I have two Speedstream pcmcia SS1021 that use the Prism 2 chipset, they work great for Kismet and Netstumbler. You can get them for about $15 if you look on Froogle, see this search link:
    http://froogle.google.com/froogle?sc...Search+Froogle

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    144
    btw if i buy a b card.. can i see g packets?
    is there any diff in the protocols or it is using the same protocol but onli the frequency difference?
    and is there any documents in the net that says which card is using which chipset?
    BlAcKiE
    GearBlitz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •