Using 'remote desktop tools' like VNC behind a router
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Using 'remote desktop tools' like VNC behind a router

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    20

    Using 'remote desktop tools' like VNC behind a router

    I have a wireless router sharing the internet connection, my personal computer is running VNC, I would like to access the VNC outside the wireless lan, but the problem is how to access the personal computer.. I have read about port-redirection, and I assume that the router have the possibilty of port-redirection. (54mbt D-link)
    Can anyone help me about the concept off 'port-redirection'?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Near Manchester (England)
    Posts
    145

    Post Simplisticly speaking...

    The port mapped on your router's Wide Area Network IP address is directly mapped to the same / or different port of an internal IP address.

    Example:

    Router seen by Internet as 64.32.16.8.
    You have a PC on the Local Area Network with IP 196.168.12.2.
    You have a Web server on the Local Area Network with IP 196.168.12.3.

    You would want to map 64.32.16.8:80 directly to 196.168.12.3:80 for HTTP traffic.

    Learn more here. The whole Network Address Translation explanation starts several pages back, here.

    Static NAT is what you're after. Note the ports (:80) need to be included but aren't in the examples on these pages, however, they should give you an introduction.
    Tomorrow is another day for yesterdays work!

  3. #3
    Top Gun Maverick811's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    852
    Simon's got it right - for VNC, if I'm remember correctly, the ports you'll want to map are 5800 and 5900, but you'll want to double check those. I'm assuming that you have logged into your routers setup in the past, so I'm hoping you're at least familar with changing it's setup and what not. Have a look through the configuration of the router so that you can see where those port mappings can be changed.
    - Maverick

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    20
    Thanks! I will try to setup the router soon, thanks again..

  5. #5
    King Tutorial-ankhamun
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    897
    You may also want to look into using a dynamic DNS service, so you can map a name to your routers IP. I use http://www.dyndns.org/ , itís free and it works well. That and port forwarding make it easy for me to use Remote Desktop from work to home so thereís no reason it should not work with VNC (unless those ports are firewalled somewhere along the line).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •