System Restore
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: System Restore

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    394

    System Restore

    How to
    install/reinstall
    "System Restore" funktion in windows xp
    // too far away outside of limit

  2. #2
    Macht Nicht Aus moxnix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Huson Mt.
    Posts
    1,752
    I am not real sure what you are asking.

    If you are asking how to turn on the 'System Restore' function, you right click on 'My Computer'. Selecy 'Properties' and then 'System Restore', and then remove the check mark in the 'Turn Off System Restore' box.
    \"Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, Champagne in one hand - strawberries in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming WOO HOO - What a Ride!\"
    Author Unknown

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    394
    I want to uninstall the System Restore from my laptop, NOT disable it.
    // too far away outside of limit

  4. #4
    Macht Nicht Aus moxnix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Huson Mt.
    Posts
    1,752
    How to
    install/reinstall "System Restore" funktion in windows xp

    I want to uninstall the System Restore from my laptop, NOT disable it.
    Ok then make up your mind!!!

    As far as I know the 'System Restore' functions is an integral part of the Windows XP operating system and you can not uninstall it.
    \"Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, Champagne in one hand - strawberries in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming WOO HOO - What a Ride!\"
    Author Unknown

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    394
    OK, how can I repair it if it has ben damaged?
    files or regentries
    // too far away outside of limit

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,130
    moxnix is right. you can disable it, but not unsintall it.
    Meu sítio

    FORMAT C: Yes ...Yes??? ...Nooooo!!! ^C ^C ^C ^C ^C
    If I die before I sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to encrypt.
    If I die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to brake.

  7. #7
    Macht Nicht Aus moxnix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Huson Mt.
    Posts
    1,752
    Originally posted here by MrBabis
    OK, how can I repair it if it has ben damaged?
    files or regentries
    Using your XP recovery/installation disk, you can reinstall your Windows system (saves files and settings) or reformat and reinstall your operating system ( wipes all files and settings clean).

    Even if you attempt to reinstall over you existing window installation, you should have your important files and such backed up. Some times (usually actually) they will be whiped or corrupted during a reinstallation.
    \"Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, Champagne in one hand - strawberries in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming WOO HOO - What a Ride!\"
    Author Unknown

  8. #8
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    I am a little confused.

    OK, how can I repair it if it has ben damaged?
    WHAT has been damaged?

    1. The information held at the system restore points that XP has created? (The restore data)
    2. The actual system restore application itself?

    Is your system working properly right now?

    If it is, manually create a new system restore point and delete the others.

    If it is not, and you cannot restore to a point where it was, you will have to repair/recover/reinstall as Moxnix and others have explained.

    Good luck

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    394
    Yes The actual system restore application itself!
    // too far away outside of limit

  10. #10
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    What makes you think that it is the application rather than the data it is trying to use..........

    When you try to do a system restore, what messages do you get?.....what happens?

    Cheers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •