Fedora and Snort HW firewall - Page 3
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: Fedora and Snort HW firewall

  1. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    32
    So do I need third nic?
    Any last considerations before I build this?
    Put smoothwall on Pentium 333 = no adverse affect?
    Anything I should know about smoothwall before installing?

    Thanks again for pointing me in right direction.
    There are so many pitfalls in this profession, I have been in plenty.

    Really do appreciate your help.

    Thank you

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    421
    Either a 3rd nic or a second firewall.
    No reason to put any thing up unprotected when a new nic is like $15 US.

    Before you put it into production make sure its tested.
    Don't consider this an endall solution. Some tweaking will probably be required.
    Be sure to patch smoothwall asap and before you put it in production.


    I never asked but do you have any access lists on the router?
    Not a bad idea to use them as well.
    Ingress filtering entries on the outside interface for example.

  3. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    32
    OK three nics,
    Internet from Eth0
    To Switch for mission critical
    To second Switch for local

    Think I will use faster newer server for smoothwall.

    A little concerned about post install stuff you mention.
    Can you be more specific please.

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    421
    Well as with all operating systems, patches are created to address software bugs.
    Smoothwall will alert you that updates are available. I think there are 4 now.
    You will download them and appy them via the Smoothwall web management interface.

    I also suggest you set your firewall to log to a seperate syslog server if you can.

  5. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    32
    I managed to download smoothwall and burn it to CDR but it won't boot.

    Syslog server? no linux experience yet. Trying hard to learn.
    No idea what you mean or how to do it.

    If this was windows/asp/perl/almost any but linux I probably would be finished by now.

    I am stuck at getting the software and loading onto a box.

    Clue me to a process because download burn and boot didn't work.

    I have Nero but it didn't like to make the iso a boot disk!

    Should call me Pitfaller (humor warning) I fell in again.

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    421
    Smoothwall file is an ISO image.
    You need to burn the image to the disk not just write the file to cd if that is what you did.

    Why not just get an off the shelf router.
    Will cost a little but not as much as the potential cost of a disaster.

    Can get one with a WANPort(eth0), Eth1, and DMZPort for pretty cheap these days.

    Spend a little and buy some time to play with the Linux for a while.

  7. #27
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    32
    I have a new cdr with the iso on it. I thought I burned it on.
    You lost me at burn to disk not write file to CDR
    I thought that was the same thing.

    I must learn - might as well be now.

    Thank you I will investigate what you said and make a proper cdr
    that will load smoothwall.

    Not giving up.

    Thanks

  8. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    32
    Just wanted to thank you for getting me pointed in the right direction.


    I can now readily access a support forum for Smoothwall. Also
    since reading about the plight of my fellow newbies with Linux
    and the Smoothwall installation, I don't feel so hopeless.
    There is nothing smooth about the installation and setup process
    unless you know exactly what you are doing.

    Thanks
    Take care :-)

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    421
    Well good luck to you.

    Try to remember that ease of use is NO indication of quality.

    More often than not, making things easier to use/learn has a direct impact on how much
    time and effort people take to understand complicated problems.

    The easier something is, the less time people take to know what the !@#$ they
    are dealing with.

    It's frustrating beyond all measure...

    Cheers!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides