Microsoft to secure IE for XP only - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: Microsoft to secure IE for XP only

  1. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,147
    Sorry, SDK, I'm going to pick on you a bit. Your header for this was misleading. The header on the original story from ZDNet was "Microsoft: To Secure IE upgrade to XP."

    Your header "Microsoft to secure IE for XP only" is a completely different statement. The point of the article is that Microsoft cannot continue to support IE on older platforms. Browsers, all of them, have moved on. So should we. You want secure internet browsing? Upgrade. Don't expect Microsoft or any vendor to retrofit 8 to 10-year old code bases.

    I was gonna rant, but decided not to.

  2. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    94
    hey guys looks like everyone of u got wrong! if u go to www.microsoft.com and then move to security downloads u'll get an option like Security dowload for IE6(KB....) that's the place u can go and moreover its free!

  3. #13
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    akshayakrsh

    Sure you can get patches TODAY.............Microsoft are still "supporting" their older OSes to 2006/7 but that may not be so good if they don't support the browser for them.

    What we are discussing is a "declaration of intent" not a fait accompli

    Anyway, all I seem to use IE for these days is to download patches for IE
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  4. #14
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126
    akshayakrsh, Zdnet change their title. I usually do a copy/paste... I change the thread title at your request.
    -Simon \"SDK\"

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    343
    Well I have XP installed on a 166 MHz Box at 64 megs,,,
    I even have NTFS on that one.... It has a 40 gig drive on it I use as storage
    Franklin Werren at www.bagpipes.net
    Yes I do play the Bagpipes!

    And learning to Play the Bugle

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •