Thread: How to identified cryptographic algorithm used?

How to identified cryptographic algorithm used?

Hi there!
    The following question is something I always questioned myself since I started learning crypto: how do you identify what algorithm has been used to encrypt a given cyphertext?

We know that different algorithms have different vulnerabilities. In order to crack the algorithm we should first know what algorithm we're dealing with right?

Is there a way to find out this directly without having to considered all major algorithms when cracking a given cyphertext?

Measures are usually taken into account to hide the algorithm. thats part of the security of cryptography.

Originally posted here by MK19
    Measures are usually taken into account to hide the algorithm. thats part of the security of cryptography.
    on the contrary mon ami, if you hide the algorithm, how i (as an user) can trust that the encription of my stuff is good enough?

i saw some threads here about that, i never read a answer about it. Im curious too.

now at the other (dark) side, looking at a (encripted) string, how can i discover the possible algorithms?
    Meu sítio

FORMAT C: Yes ...Yes??? ...Nooooo!!! ^C ^C ^C ^C ^C
    If I die before I sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to encrypt.
    If I die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to brake.

What you want to do is publish your algorithm so others can test it. Otherwise it's a mix between obscurity and security, and generally it won't get you anything good. Unless you're the NSA and have some of the best cryptographers/cryptologists in the world working for you, you need peer-review.

But supposing you've just gotten across a ciphertext and you'd like to break it...