How 2 b a network engineer?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How 2 b a network engineer?

Banned

How 2 b a network engineer?

Okay, I have done A+, Network + marks on both are good and currently halfway thru on CCNA...don't have much knowledge on Unix ...trying to do meself but may b i have to take Linux+ or so... My ambition isto b a Nework engineer( Is security engineer diff.?) ..I was assuming security engineer as like advance or super network engineer ... I left my grad on computer science 4 some reason. Do I need to finish my graduation or the super courses like CCNA,MCSE,some C++ program and Unix related certification will do??

Dilema... I know we have so many emp or the ppl who have spent most of the career on networking or security. can any1 give me a descent advice thanks.... I forgot to add I have No experience at IT industry. Is that possible 2 b net-engineer directly?

Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    I don't know really of anyone that became a Network Engineer right out of school. CCNA will help but like many you have to start at the ground floor. To get experience, you might want to start off by volunteering or getting in at the ground floor (grunt jobs is what I call them). You will tend to be overworked but you learn a lot. Check with your school and see if they need help, even if it's just running wires around.

I'm also going to suggest something that I think will help you in the long run: learn to write in proper english (or your own language). Constant usage of "IM" language or "leet" talk makes you look like you don't have a clue.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

Banned