XP home/pro help?

Thread: XP home/pro help?

XP home/pro help?

OK, this isn't really a security question, but I figured I'd start here. working on a friend's computer who had to replace a hard drive through a warranty service, at which point MicronPC installed XP Home without any means of activation. We tried going through Microsoft, but they've been completely unhelpful. Luckily, I'm a college student and could get XP Pro for under $10, so it's been bought and installed. I don't know how to uninstall Home now, it won't run past the login screen without activation, and I can't find any easy options to simply uninstall it while keeping Pro. It's got to be fairly easy... any help?
    But the greatest commandment is love.

Why didn't you just install Pro over Home, now you have two OS's ( still this seems like an pathetic attempt to get us to help you crack the activation) if you do have two OS's, there should be a screen on boot up which lets you select either XP Pro or Home, so there shouldnt really be any problem with HOme if you installed Pro.....just don't use Home anymore......
    StreetsCrack.com Join The Best Music Social Network Online. Music downloads, promotions, forums, profile, games etc...

What I would do is reformat the HD and the just install the Pro copy of XP. Then you are starting fresh with only one operating system and a clean HD.
    \"Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, Champagne in one hand - strawberries in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming WOO HOO - What a Ride!\"
    Author Unknown

Old Fart
    Or you could just boot from the XP CD and install from there.
    Al
    It isn't paranoia when you KNOW they're out to get you...