Increasing the Receving Ability of my WiFi Card

Thread: Increasing the Receving Ability of my WiFi Card

Hoopy Frood

Increasing the Receving Ability of my WiFi Card

I believe this would be the right forum for this question, but if it isn't, please forgive me. I'm on a wireless network at college. The problem is that I'm upstairs and the Access Point & Antenna are downstairs so once in a while I have trouble receiving the signal. It works fine 95% of the time, but sometimes the signal strength drops way low and for a minute or two I'm offline. What I was wondering was if there is a way for me to somehow make the antenna on my Wi-Fi card bigger without buying any expensive parts. Like, can I run wire around the antenna and then around me room or something? I'm new to wireless so I have virtually no knowledge here so I apologize if this is a newbieish question. Thank you for your time.

"Personality is only ripe when a man has made the truth his own."

-- Søren Kierkegaard

Does the Wlan card have an aerial socket?

if yes you have a lot of options.. if.. don't dispair..there is a ugly solution

here is a recent mag artical on the cheep DIY (oops it is only an need to subscribe -pay ouch)

nah try these.. from my bookmarks

Give that lot a play..
    "Consumer technology now exceeds the average persons ability to comprehend how to use it..give up hope of them being able to understand how it works." - Me

Regal Making Handler
    Making an antenna bigger is not conducive to better reception/transmition. This is because antenna size is dictated by the frequency used, ie. Each frequency used requires a different antenna length...............Frequency used devided by the speed of light= Antenna length.

Positioning of the antenna is the important factor. You maybe able to improve reception by moving your location, even small position changes can make a big difference.

Undertaker no's his stuff, so the links he gave should be pretty good.