slackware/gnome problem
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: slackware/gnome problem

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    317

    slackware/gnome problem

    i just installed slackware and chose gnome as my primary desktop. everything is working fine except that there seems to be a problem with nautilus. when gnome loads it hangs when it tries to load nautilus and then quits, the desktop doesnt work, and when i try to open the "browse filesystem" shortcut, nothing happens. i tried running nautilus with the console and this is what it says:
    nautilus: error while loading shared libraries: libcdda_paranoia.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
    anybody know how to fix this?

  2. #2
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    724
    install libcdda_paranoia.so.0 ???
    Do you have slack 9 or 10?
    When death sleeps it dreams of you...

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    317
    i have 10. i dont understand why it would require a library that doesnt come with the installation... i didnt uselect anything besides the pcmia during the install

  4. #4
    Senior Member gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    What type of install did you do? What did you install?

    GNOME is odd, and from what I've read, Nautilus is for odler version, as they have switched something in it. Even though when I look at top, it shows Naut still there, so I'm sure I just misread it, but anwyay, uhh, I've never once seen this error and I use GNOME all the time when I use X.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    317
    i followed your slackware install guide
    is it possible that the install discs are corrupt or something? im also having some other problems, i dont know if they're related or not: i cant lock the screen as root and i cant run certain programs (particularly mozilla or galeon) unless im root or do a sudo

  6. #6
    Senior Member gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    You're clearly showing some troubles there.

    It is possible for the disks to be corrupted though it doesn't happen often (Well, to me it hasn't) where did you get them? Was there any problems while you were downloading them? Even what seemed like lag? I've had problems before because the download had problems so I just redownloaded the disks, but for some this isn't viable.

  7. #7
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    724
    cdparanoia is on your slack disc. It's on the first disk under slackware/ap/cdparanoia-IIIalpha9.8-i386-1
    When death sleeps it dreams of you...

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    317
    well, ill try reinstalling cdparanoia. if all else fails i guess i'll redownload and reburn(there go two more cd's) i actually have had problems with burning a cd and then the disc being corrupt or possibly the download. when i downloaded both at the same time while playing counter strike... maybe that has something to do with it?

  9. #9
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    724
    did you check the md5sum? It saves a lot of time and sometimes a disc or two.
    http://linuxiso.org/viewdoc.php/verifyiso.html
    When death sleeps it dreams of you...

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    317
    i reinstalled and the problem with nautilus is gone, but the thing where root cant lock the screen and the thing where only root can execute mozilla and some other applications is still going on... anybody know how to fix this, it sounds like a permsissions problem or something. i can run mozilla with sudo but its so much easier to just click the little thingy in the drop down menu. im trying the md5sum thing right now

    edit:
    oops, i already deleted those iso's cuz i had to format my hd to install slackware... maybe i could rip the cd's to an iso and then do an md5sum?

    edit: another thing with the permissions problem, when i execute a web browser that comes with gnome, epiphany as a regular user, i dont get a scrollbar, but i get one as root.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •