Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: WPA and WEP

Question WPA and WEP

I have heard that WEP is exploitable but WPA is not, is this true? A coworker claims regardless of what bit security a WEP device has, his linux box can "tap into it".

If you can support WPA, you should use it as WEP is trivial to break with enough time to
    gather enough packets for a proper guess.

WPA is still in interim status while a better methodology is developed. AFAIK

Also keep in mind, WPA implementations are not all the same and some devices can
    have a hard time talking to other WPA devices. I have not experienced any problems but
    have read about several.

With wireless, I don't consider any secure enough not to worry.
    Consider adding a VPN tunnel to your wifi if you are a privacy freak.

Some Assembly Required ShagDevil's Avatar
    wildred, good question. I'm just getting into wireless routers myself and in looking for an answer for you, I got some answers myself . Anyways, here's a link that explains in depth the differences between WEP and WPA. Check it out, see if it answers your question.

http://www.nwfusion.com/columnists/2...19wizards.html
    The object of war is not to die for your country but to make the other bastard die for his - George Patton

Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar