stupid question about KDE
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: stupid question about KDE

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    121

    stupid question about KDE

    Hi to all!
    I run a debian linux and I have recently installed KDE 3.2.3.The problem is that even if i have configured the monitor properly (with kxconfig) the display is a bit on the right so i have to move it in order to see properly the hole display.I tried xf86cfg,it fixes the problem (i tell it to go a bit left) but even if i sdave the changes whenever i re-launch KDE i get the same problem.This problem exists only on KDE and not on the console (i have framebuffer)
    How can i fix the problem in order that the screen fits correctly on the display???
    Is that the place where I am supposed to say sth clever and brilliant so that everybody understands how clever nice guy I am????
    Screw you guys I am going home!-Kartman

  2. #2
    AO BOFH: Luser Abuser BModeratorFH gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    1. Locate Monitor

    2. Look at Monitor

    3. find button that says "mode" or "menu"

    4. Smash Monitor with hammer

    5. Put in Buttered pan

    6. add flour and water

    7. Turn Oven on 350 degrees

    8. Bake for one hour

    9. While waiting, read the Novel you got when you bought the Monitor about a Spanish explorer named "Manual".

    10. find a big red sticker, place on forehead and write "PEN15" and show everyone how you're a part of the Pen 15 club.
    Kill the lights, let the candles burn behind the pumpkins’ mischievous grins, and let the skeletons dance. For one thing is certain, The Misfits have returned and once again everyday is Halloween.The Misfits FreeBSD
    Cannibal Holocaust
    SuSE Linux
    Slackware Linux

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    121
    .....ok it was a lame question...ok I am so pathetic!I just thought I should not fix it from the monitor's menu because I also run windows and there I did not have any problem....I guess it 'bear no relation'...
    Thanks anyway I cannot flame you now but I will on first opportunity!!! ;p
    Is that the place where I am supposed to say sth clever and brilliant so that everybody understands how clever nice guy I am????
    Screw you guys I am going home!-Kartman

  4. #4
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    Thanks Gore


    I needed a giggle

    Tyfon...dont take Gore too seriously...hes alot of fun....and he helps out alot...always giving the other point of view...

    I like his ..um...lets say "warped" sense of humor

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  5. #5
    Antionline Herpetologist
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,165
    You might want to try adjusting the refresh rates on your monitor. This has helped me with this problem in the past.

    Cheers,
    cgkanchi
    Buy the Snakes of India book, support research and education (sorry the website has been discontinued)
    My blog: http://biology000.blogspot.com

  6. #6
    rebmeM roineS enilnOitnA steve.milner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,018
    You probably need some modelines for your monitor Try surfing through here:

    http://www.x.org/

    Steve
    IT, e-commerce, Retail, Programme & Project Management, EPoS, Supply Chain and Logistic Services. Yorkshire. http://www.bigi.uk.com

  7. #7
    AO BOFH: Luser Abuser BModeratorFH gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    I do what I can. Like I just woke up, and I'm trying not too fall out of my chair back asleep.
    Kill the lights, let the candles burn behind the pumpkins’ mischievous grins, and let the skeletons dance. For one thing is certain, The Misfits have returned and once again everyday is Halloween.The Misfits FreeBSD
    Cannibal Holocaust
    SuSE Linux
    Slackware Linux

  8. #8
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    Check if you have a program called xvidtune.
    It is made for those kind of adjustments.
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    121
    Ok the screen menu did not solve anything because when I returned on my tty's they were moved right.I just read the posts,I found xvidtune I fixed the problem,thanks rcgreen,but I don't know if I will again have trouble next time I start KDE.Is the adjustment I made permanent??
    By the way I don't take Gore seriously for god' sake!!!
    Is that the place where I am supposed to say sth clever and brilliant so that everybody understands how clever nice guy I am????
    Screw you guys I am going home!-Kartman

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides