Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: EFS - A deadend street :( Pls help

Angry EFS - A deadend street :( Pls help

Well I admit, this was a stupid thing to do, but it happened. I tried my best to get back on the road, but nothing worked for me so far. Here's what problem I have:

Well I installed long ago Win2k Professional and used the EFS. Everything went well, no problems and I was satisfied. But when I changed to WinXP, I forgot to decrypt the files. Now I have the problem, that I can't get back the files. I cant take them over, but still can not remove the EFS or open them, even as I'm now the owner.

I'm very sorry, if you just think, I'm a newbie. I have experience with computers and so on, but here I made a big mistake. The problem is, I need those files back, because those are manuskripts of my short stories. I have some backups, which are not encrypted, but the last works aren't in the backups

So pls, tell me what I could do, to get me out of this deadend street.

Best regards and many thanks in advance,
    - badfinger

If I remember correctly, this is actually a dead end road... From what I hear there is no possible way to get your data back... There was a thread on here back 4 months or so that discussed this... IIRC the guy didn't end up finding a way.
    [H]ard|OCP <--Best hardware/gaming news out there--|
    pwned.nl <--Gamers will love this one --|
    Light a man a fire and you\'ll keep him warm for a day, Light a man ON fire and you\'ll keep him warm the rest of his life.

i am not sure if this will work, but please try the "recovery" section of this article:

http://www.winnetmag.com/Windows/Art...907/15907.html

let us know if it works or not....
    [gloworange]find / -name \"*your_base*\" -exec chown us:us {} \\;[/gloworange] [glowpurple]Trust No One[/glowpurple][shadow] Use Hardened Gentoo [/shadow]
    CATAPULTAM HABEO. NISI PECUNIAM OMNEM MIHI DABIS, AD CAPUT TUUM SAXUM IMMANE MITTAM