Rundll32
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Rundll32

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    137

    Rundll32

    guys Im having a problem regarding this Rundll32

    When I open my PC and a warm boot in entering windows an error came up
    it says something like this

    Rundll32 has caused an error in KERNEL32.DLL
    rundll will now close.

    If you continue to experience problems &
    try restarting your pc.

    I already used the msconfig command guys.
    When I boot my pc that is still there any suggestions guys or
    articles in microsoft that can help me understand this Rundll32 and Kernel..
    Can someone explain to me what is this two and what is the difference between the two?
    Thanks guys in advance...

    by the way I use Windows ME and I already restarted my PC for so many times the error
    still pop ups guys.
    HELP Me.

  2. #2
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    Google can be exteremely helpful when trying to figure out specific processes.

    First link:

    Source: liutilities

    rundll32 - rundll32.exe - Process Information

    Process File: rundll32 or rundll32.exe
    Process Name: Microsoft Rundll32

    Description:
    rundll32.exe is a process which executes DLL's an places their libraries into the memory, so they can be used more efficiently by applications.

    Google Search on Kernel32.dll

    Source: Webopedia

    Kernel32.dll is the 32-bit dynamic link library found in the Windows operating system kernel. It handles memory management, input/output operations, and interrupts. When Windows boots up, kernel32.dll is loaded into a protected memory space so other applications do not take that space over.

    On occasion, though, users may encounter the "invalid page fault" error.

    This error occurs when a program or application tries to access kernel32.dll's protected memory space. Sometimes the error is caused by one particular program or application, and other times it is provoked by multiple files and applications.

    If the problem results from running one application, then the application needs to be replaced. If the problem occurs when accessing multiple files and applications, the corruption is probably caused by faulty hardware.
    This page, which I found using this Google Search, might help you with some Microsoft Knowledge pages.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  3. #3
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    Did you scan your PC for viruses, trojans, adware and/or spyware?

    And I highly recommend ditching ME. IMO it's the worst Win9x version ever made. If you have more then 128MB of memory and a descent CPU (>350MHz) you're probably better off using XP.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  4. #4
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi, I have had similar problems with a WinME box.

    Try booting into safe mode (In winME just hold the shift key down whilst it is booting). Run scandisk, if it doesn't run automatically, then restart. Does that work?

    Do you also get Msgsrv32 errors?

    What antivirus and firewall software do you have starting on bootup?

    Try to minimise the number of applications that you have loading on bootup.

    Good luck

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    137
    Originally posted here by nihil
    Hi, I have had similar problems with a WinME box.

    Do you also get Msgsrv32 errors?

    What antivirus and firewall software do you have starting on bootup?

    Try to minimise the number of applications that you have loading on bootup.

    Good luck
    Yes I do also get this error messages Msgsrv32 errors. What does this mean guys?

    Im using AVG as my antivirus and sygate as my firewall.

    Well as I can see here your saying to me that WinME is not a good OS is that it well
    I agree with that Im having a lot of Errors everytime I change settings or booting up speciallt this Rundll, Msgsrv32 I think I must go with Win XP.
    The point here is that now I know that this errors are really annoying when using WINME..

  6. #6
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi, I am sorry but I have to go out. I will reply in detail later.

    I do not think that it is WinME as such, as I have 4 other machines that run it without that problem.

    A clue, is to think about your firewall and AV and what else is starting up when you boot. It is a software conflict.

    Could you also let me know what processor and RAM you have.


    I will get back later.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •