My Search toolbar
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: My Search toolbar

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    18

    Angry My Search toolbar

    My internet explorer has recently been hijacked by my search toolbar. it tells me i can uninstall it in the ad/remove programs. But when i go there, I can't find it. I need some help please.
    I AM FROM CANADA.....AND THEY THINK I AM SLOW EH!

  2. #2
    AntiOnline n00b
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    665
    Hi ,

    Which toolbar is it ?

    have you tried Ad-Aware..........because most of these tool bars are considered Adwares. ?

    [edit]
    I AM FROM CANADA.....AND THEY THINK I AM SLOW EH
    No i think i am slow .............sorry so it is My search Tool bar ?

    AD-Aware should get rid of it .

    --Good Luck--

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    510
    This should do the trick

    http://www.spy-bot.net/MySearch.asp
    \"You got a mouth like an outboard motor..all the time putt putt putt\" - Foghorn Leghorn

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    519
    I think the my search toolbar comes with kazaa.. I know i got it after installing kazaa ..

    Kazaa installs a **** load of spyware. I guessed that it had something to do with the kazaa GUI.


    Mind you I could be wrong as I never looked into it or anything.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Try this:

    1. Download AdAware SE and SpyBot S&D, update them and run them in safe mode.
    2. Go to the Trend Micro website (PC-Cillin) and run the "Housecall" online scanner.

    That should solve your problem and get rid of anything else you have picked up .

    In my experience these things rarely come in ones

    I hope that you have a firewall and AV that you keep up to date as well?

    Good luck
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  6. #6
    If I'm not mistaken, the mysearch bar has a simple uninstaller in the add/ remove program section of your control panel.

    If I were you, I would also scan your box with the tools nihil suggested.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    18
    Originally posted here by Soda_Popinsky
    If I'm not mistaken, the mysearch bar has a simple uninstaller in the add/ remove program section of your control panel.
    I already said i couldn't find it in add/remove programs. and yes i do have a firewall and AV.
    I have also used Spybot S&D and Ad-Aware but they dont seem to find it. Also there is this other pop-up and toolbar at the bottom of the screen the appears sometimes. It hasnt come up lately so i cant show you a print screen. I tried that "Housecall" thing but that would take way to much time.
    I AM FROM CANADA.....AND THEY THINK I AM SLOW EH!

  8. #8
    AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5,197
    I tried that "Housecall" thing but that would take way to much time.
    Let me see.....

    Original post:-

    My Search toolbar posted Yesterday 04:36 PM
    Lastest post with above quote:-

    posted Today 10:04 AM
    You're in a big hurry then huh?
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....
    \"A nation that draws too broad a difference between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting done by fools.\" - Thucydides

  9. #9
    AntiOnline n00b
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    665
    Hi,

    01001101 --> have you updated the AD-Aware and Spybot Updated? make sure you Update them before scanning.

    The latest Verson of AD-Aware is AAW SE 1.05,

    Select "Perform Full System Scan" and press "Next".

    Try this in Safe mode also

    I am sure it detects MySearch Toolbar.

    and give this a try http://www.2-spyware.com/remove-my-s...installer.html


    --Good Luck--

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    18
    my version is Ad-aware 6.0 personal build 6.181 and my spybot S&D is updated too. here is a screenie of the tool bar the apears at the bottom (Note: I know this isnt the "My Search" thing, I disabled it.)
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...ry/toolbar.jpg

    oh and next time you see me i'll have a differant name(WhiteHat)
    I AM FROM CANADA.....AND THEY THINK I AM SLOW EH!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides