Question about Knoppix
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question about Knoppix

Question about Knoppix

Why for example when I want to copy the SAM and system files to a thumbdrive using a Knoppix boot-up disc, must I type out all those commands like cd /mnt/hda1, then cd windows etc?
    Why is it not possible to simply do cd /mnt/hda1/windows/system32/config
    or maybe cd windows/system32/config

and I usually get only the SAM and system files, but I have to execute two commands for that. Is it possible to copy the in one line like cp SAM, system /mnt/sda1 , or something similar.
    Sorry, I'm a real command line noob, and even more so using Knoppix.

Help appreciated

Regal Making Handler
    Why not just navigate to the required files and right click and choose copy to???
    What happens if a big asteroid hits the Earth? Judging from realistic simulations involving a sledge hammer and a common laboratory frog, we can assume it will be pretty bad. - Dave Barry

lol....i use knoppix myself.....it rock's for sure....as for the required pathname ect to do what u asked...it's kinda obvious isnt it???/ Kudo's for the frog hammer response though...funny.
    nice to meat you

I'm not sure, but I think your problem might be case sensitivity. The linux command line distinguses between upper and lower case. This means that Windows is different from windows , and System32 is different from system32. Hope this helps!

Re: Question about Knoppix

Originally posted here by Kezman
    Why for example when I want to copy the SAM and system files to a thumbdrive using a Knoppix boot-up disc, must I type out all those commands like cd /mnt/hda1, then cd windows etc?
    Why is it not possible to simply do cd /mnt/hda1/windows/system32/config
    or maybe cd windows/system32/config

and I usually get only the SAM and system files, but I have to execute two commands for that. Is it possible to copy the in one line like cp SAM, system /mnt/sda1 , or something similar.