Fedora FC2 and SIS 900 ethernet controller
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Fedora FC2 and SIS 900 ethernet controller

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    15

    Question Fedora FC2 and SIS 900 ethernet controller

    Ok so I broke down and installed Fedora FC2 but I can't get the ethernet driver to work I have tried everything I can think of and no luck. I can't remove the NIC because it is onboard and no open PCI slots are avaliable. can't remove anything because the video (PCI) and SCSI controllers (PCI) are needed to make this server work. the SCSI is the main drive controller and also controls the Tape Drive (and yes I do use the tape drive). is there a better module that I can load for the ethernet or should I just junk the box for something better.



    RObert
    If it's new smash it
    If it's old Trash it
    If it's Microsoft just run from it
    Just A guy trying to get away from the Dreaded Windows Server Enviroment

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    15

    Question forgot something to first thread

    the nic worked with the RedHat 9 disto that I installed on the same system as before, and the first attempt to upgrade was to upgrade redhat 9 the network was not working so I tried a fresh install so at this point I have no Idea what to try to do next



    Robert
    Just A guy trying to get away from the Dreaded Windows Server Enviroment

  3. #3
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    I believe you need the EthernetExpress Pro 100 , the module eepro100.
    Can you paste here an output of "lsmod"and maybe a "dmesg | grep eth".

    Cheers
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    15

    Question SiS 900 and FC2

    That didn't do the trick either, apparentl there is a problem with the sis 900 and it hasa been this way befor with the older Redhat 7.3 that was corrected in 8.0 and 9.0 it seems that the problem has returned again. DOes anybody understand what is going on I went to bugzilla and found a bur report about it. how do I get hold of the people who found what went wrong and what they did to fix it. here is the report #70927 and then again at # 122089



    any help would be appreceated.



    RObert
    Just A guy trying to get away from the Dreaded Windows Server Enviroment

  5. #5
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    ok Gimme the next ouput from the next commands (in a shell) :

    1. #lspci
    2. #lsmod
    3. #ifconfig

    Then we'll be able to give further help. I have myself an k7s5a mobo with the sis900 chipset running under slack.

    Greetz,
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    15

    Talking for get about it

    DOn't worry I decided that I would just make some hardware changes and then reinstall so it works



    RObert
    Just A guy trying to get away from the Dreaded Windows Server Enviroment

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •