internet connection sharing
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: internet connection sharing

  1. #1
    Member Mohsin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    43

    internet connection sharing

    i am using redhat9.0 and i want to share internet connection on windows and redhat 9 is directly connected to the internet plz tell me how to share internet connection through redhat

    THAnx
    ----=E-criminal=----

  2. #2
    Senior Member z31200n3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bellevegas
    Posts
    102
    I dont know much about linux, but..


    www.google.com


    or, buy a router/hub?

    -z3

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Easiest way is to buy a $50 router then everything can get on the internet.

    As far as connecting through you redhat box theres several ways.

    You could use a Proxy, or you could set up your RH box as a internet gateway.

    Heres some sites that might help you.



    http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...s+proxy+server


    http://adsvr.adknowledge.com:8000/ge....0J//BURSTURL=

    You might try squid as its a pretty popular program and should get the job done.
    http://www.squid-cache.org/


    But fastes and easiest way is just to go buy a router lol.


    If you decide to not go with a router, you will need to get a crossover cable if your not going to use a switch, but I suggest using a switch if you don't have a router.
    =

  4. #4
    Member Mohsin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    43

    hi

    i have cables hub lan cards
    only tell me what should i add in redhat to make internet connection sharing to other boxes

    the steps needed by redhat to be the gateway
    thanx
    ----=E-criminal=----

  5. #5
    Senior Member z31200n3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bellevegas
    Posts
    102
    Okay,

    youve got 2 (or more) boxes that you want to set up to share the internet....right so far?

    well, with most generic hubs (ive got a good ole' linksys 4 port box i 'borrowed' from my old dorm room, and am using in my current dorm room) theres one spot for the CAT5 cable thats supplying the net, and then you use the other CAT5 ports to connect into the hub. I dont know if Linux is that plug and play (as i said earlier, i dont know much about linux) but, you should be able just to connect each of the computers to the hub via your NIC and it should work. With windows, unless you want to actually set up a network for a specific reason (file sharing, ect) both computers sould be able to acces the net w/o any configuration.

    there are many AO members that are much more versed in networking and *nix than i am, and i do not pretend to have the correct solution. But, i think that might help you :-)

    -z3

  6. #6
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •