Linux dualboot problem
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Linux dualboot problem

  1. #1
    The Prancing Pirate
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    548

    Linux dualboot problem

    OK, I just installed Mandrake 10.1 on my box which already has Fedora Core 1 on it. The only problem is that every time I boot up my computer, Fedora comes up! It only allows me to boot from Fedora, and doesn't even give me a chance to boot from Mandrake. Can someone please tell me what to do, because the only other things I've seen about dualbooting are with Windows and Linux, never Linux and Linux. Anyway, could you please tell me what to do so that on start-up I can have the choice to boot from Mandrake 10.1 or Fedora Core 1? Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks in advance,

    J_K9
    TAZForum <---- click

  2. #2
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    Which bootloader do you use ? I'd say , use fedora's one , edit it and rebuild it.

    But first tell us your bootloader-type.
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

  3. #3
    The Prancing Pirate
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    548
    I'm using Fedora's boot loader (GRUB). I'm a n00b to linux, so I dont really know how to edit the boot loader, or what to do whith it. Thanks a lot for answering though.

    [EDIT]

    I know how to change to LILO if you want me to.

    [/EDIT]

    J_K9
    TAZForum <---- click

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    813
    Okay for the following purposes I'll consider you have something along the following lines

    /dev/hda1 &lt;- fedora /
    /dev/hda3 &lt;- mandrake /

    in [hda1]/boot/grub/grub.conf

    add a line saying

    title='Mandrake'
    root(hd0,2)
    kernel /kernel* root=/dev/hda3

    A quick explanation:

    root(hd0,2)

    Means disk 1, partition 3 [it starts at 0 as being the first]

    So if you have two hdd's and say mandrake is on hdb

    root(hd1,0) for hdb1

    Kernel* must be the kernel version [exact filename] for you Mandrake distro. Remember that everything you declare in grub.conf is relative to /boot/ not /, so all paths should be referenced accordingly.

    If there's anything else, give us your particular set-up.. for example, I have a separate partition for /boot/ that's only mounted while the system boots [and when I add kernels to it ]
    /\\

  5. #5
    The Prancing Pirate
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    548
    I know that Fedora Core is on hda1 and Mandrake: "/" is on hda6, "/home" is on hda7.

    So here's what I'm typing into /boot/grub/grub.conf:

    Code:
    title='Mandrake'
    root(hd0,5)
    kernel /2.6.8.1 root=/dev/hda6
    Is this correct? There is one problem though - I have looked in /dev and "hda6" doesn't appear to be there. Any ideas ?

    Thanks a lot for your help so far,

    J_K9
    TAZForum <---- click

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    813
    [post got erased x(]

    So, try rebooting and selecting this entry from GRUB, and tell us what happens [post an error message from GRUB or something]. You could also run fdisk /dev/hda and see how many partitions you have and what they are.

    I'm not sure if there'll be a problem with Fedora not listing hda6 in /dev/, but GRUB doesn't care about it. Did you try mounting the drive?

    Another thing.. if you have time, do a man grub and see what happens.
    /\\

  7. #7
    The Prancing Pirate
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    548
    The error message shows up:

    Code:
         Booting 'Mandrake'
    root (hd0,5)
       Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
    kernel /2.6.8.1 root=/dev/hda6
    
    Error 15: File not found
    
    Press any key to continue...
    In bash, "fdisk /dev/hda", showed up "hda6 ........ Linux" & "hda7........Linux".

    hda6, according to the Mandrake custom partitioner, was the "/" partition.

    [EDIT]
    I tried to mount it by typing:
    Code:
    mount /dev/hda6 /mnt/hda6
    but didn't work.
    [/EDIT]

    Thanks a lot,

    J_K9
    TAZForum <---- click

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    813
    Under kernel make sure you link to the kernel from the Mandrake distro. In kernel put down the exact filename, not just the version number... for all is worth it, your kernel could be called "punk'd" and GRUB wouldn't care

    From your code listing it seems that you put down just the version number for the kernel [and I think it's probbaly my fault, so I apologize ]
    /\\

  9. #9
    The Prancing Pirate
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    548
    The exact filename?? Where can I find that? I have looked at the Mandrake website but there isn't anything about the filename of the kernel, just it's version number. Any ideas?

    Thanks,

    J_K9
    TAZForum <---- click

  10. #10
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    Code:
        Booting 'Mandrake'
    root (hd0,5)
       Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
    kernel /2.6.8.1 root=/dev/hda6
    
    Error 15: File not found
    
    Press any key to continue...
    Well the problem here is the kernel-line, there you need to point out the absolute filename, being your kernel image.

    For.ex. Let me show my system :

    I'm gonna mount and show my /boot , the dots represent non-relevant files here.

    Code:
    root@S04200 / # mount /boot
    root@S04200 / # ls -l /boot
    total 16587
    ...
    -rw-r--r--  1 root root 2072261 Aug  5 15:42 bzImage-2.6.7-gentoo-r1
    drwxr-xr-x  2 root root    1024 Apr 12  2004 grub
    -rw-r--r--  1 root root   41895 Mar 23  2004 initrd-1024x768
    ...
    Here's my /boot/grub/grub.conf

    Code:
    root@S04200 / # cat /boot/grub/grub.conf
    timeout 30                      
    default 0                       
    fallback 1                      
    splashimage=(hd0,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
                                    
    title=Gentoo Linux - Kernel 2.6.7-gentoo-r1
    root (hd0,1)                    
    kernel /bzImage-2.6.7-gentoo-r1 root=/dev/hda4 vga=791  acpi=off splash=verbose
    initrd /initrd-1024x768 
    
    title Windows XP Professional
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    makeactive
    chainloader  +1
    As you can see, my kernel image (bzImage.. ) is absolute in my grub.conf. If it can't find it says file not found. Don't mind you partition reference, that one seems fine.
    Maybe show us your boot dir.

    Greetz,
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •