set desktop through command prompt
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: set desktop through command prompt

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    51

    set desktop through command prompt

    is it possible to set the image of your desktop through the command prompt?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,130
    hum, never tried, but how about create a .reg file and load it thru regedit?
    Meu sítio

    FORMAT C: Yes ...Yes??? ...Nooooo!!! ^C ^C ^C ^C ^C
    If I die before I sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to encrypt.
    If I die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to brake.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    122
    huh never even thought
    nobody is perfect i am nobody

  4. #4
    Senior Member RoadClosed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3,834
    You can do it from some of the advanced scripting languages but I have done a copy command in the login script that reset it and had some limited success with changing the wallpaper files to read only, expecially internet exlplorer wall paper.bmp.

    Local and domain secuirity policies can also restrict it.
    West of House
    You are standing in an open field west of a white house, with a boarded front door.
    There is a small mailbox here.

  5. #5
    IT Specialist Ghost_25inf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648
    Yeah, just change the name of the picture to the one that is currently being used and move that to the folder that the wallpaper is in.

    This will require a reboot for the picture to show up.
    S25vd2xlZGdlIGlzIHBvd2VyIQ

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    51
    i'm not too familiar with creating reg files, can u explain it? What if the picture set to the desktop is from a website, then where is it stored. I tried to search the computer for the file, but it was uncessful. Also say there are no security restrictions on this computer

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    2
    for Microsoft Windows, I don't know. I you're under a *nix box, with fluxbox, try with "bsetbg" or "bsetroot" (and "esetroot" with enlightenment, but I'm not sure for this one).

    MeiK
    http://afturgurluk.org/~meik/

  8. #8
    the beign of authority kurt_der_koenig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    567
    I[f] you're under a *nix box, with fluxbox, try with "bsetbg" or "bsetroot" (and "esetroot" with enlightenment, but I'm not sure for this one).
    Thats good that you know how to change it under *nix but how is the relevant here? Especailly when he says "command prompt" and registry are discussed....

    Here is some links to get you started on editing and understanding your registry:::

    http://www.winguides.com/registry/ar...hp?id=1&page=3

    This one will help you with .reg files and the such:::

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/322756

    remember to back up before you start!

    kurt

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    26
    You should be looking to modify the following key in registry.

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop\Wallpaper

    If you need a VB script to modify this, I can give you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •