theregister.co.uk and IE = virus - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: theregister.co.uk and IE = virus

  1. #11
    Regal Making Handler
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,668
    oh and I don't really see why I need the administrative rights just to read the funny pages on The Register.
    Care to expand??.where did that come from?
    What happens if a big asteroid hits the Earth? Judging from realistic simulations involving a sledge hammer and a common laboratory frog, we can assume it will be pretty bad. - Dave Barry

  2. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    843
    Oh my god DO I REALLY need to explain? In no way do people need to be in a position which would let Joe-Blow idiot user or any randomly automated program do things such as modify registry entries while some dumb ****er reads his or her email & browses a few sites.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    131
    Originally posted here by TheSpecialist
    Oh my god DO I REALLY need to explain? In no way do people need to be in a position which would let Joe-Blow idiot user or any randomly automated program do things such as modify registry entries while some dumb ****er reads his or her email & browses a few sites.
    you may need to explain that one to me. i don't think i follow.

    my beef with this stuff. given all the security problems, malware issues, virus issues, and all that - microsoft should really harden their IE browser. tighten those security settings 'til you can hear it squek under the rope! so what if some web pages stop working properly anymore. to hell with them! there are billions of web sites out there. find one that will work.

    when i made the switch to linux & used konquerer - a few sites stopped working. yeah, i used a 2nd machine for a bit. but then i just found another site that did work and stopped going to the one that didn't.
    More cowbell! We need more cowbell!
    http://www.geocities.com/secure_lockdown/
    - - -
    \"Is the firewall there to protect you from the outside world or is it there to protect the outside world from *YOU*?\"

  4. #14
    Regal Making Handler
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,668
    when i made the switch to linux & used konquerer - a few sites stopped working. yeah, i used a 2nd machine for a bit. but then i just found another site that did work and stopped going to the one that didn't.
    Thats all well and good.......................What if your in business and your supplier,"of one of a kind"/buyer/partner, what ever. Is using one of those, "feck it web" sites.
    What happens if a big asteroid hits the Earth? Judging from realistic simulations involving a sledge hammer and a common laboratory frog, we can assume it will be pretty bad. - Dave Barry

  5. #15
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    843
    Once agian, most windows home users set all accounts to admin, no limits, no policies, nothing... just let the AV and FW do everything. They also don't bother with certian file/sys auditing. Even with that, most wouldn't notice changes in any case. They like to be able to install, modify, delete, & run anything at any time they want. Well... a dishonest & degenerate scumbag such as myself does too.

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,199
    I run IE and dont have problems. I scan for adware/spyware once every two weeks using adaware, spybot, cwshreadder, stinger, and hijackthis and never have more then 10 Items, usually all just cookies.
    Everyone is going to die, I am just as good of a reason as any.

    http://think-smarter.blogspot.com

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    131
    Originally posted here by TheSpecialist
    Once agian, most windows home users set all accounts to admin, no limits, no policies, nothing... just let the AV and FW do everything. They also don't bother with certian file/sys auditing. Even with that, most wouldn't notice changes in any case. They like to be able to install, modify, delete, & run anything at any time they want. Well... a dishonest & degenerate scumbag such as myself does too.
    but lets compare a windows default install process and a lets say a suse linux default install process.

    the winxp install process sets up the machine for the user with the user account as superuser/root/administrator account privaledge.

    the linux install process actually seperates the two right from the get do. there is a seperation and distiction between your user account and the root account right from the get go. ever for newbies. it instill a sense of security and a habit that there is alwasy an extra process they you have to go through to do things like patch/update/ insatall even run some applications.

    maybe if microsoft changed their ways a few more people would start implementing your methodology.
    More cowbell! We need more cowbell!
    http://www.geocities.com/secure_lockdown/
    - - -
    \"Is the firewall there to protect you from the outside world or is it there to protect the outside world from *YOU*?\"

  8. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    97
    Using non-admin rights works, but it's hard to implement at home. Some applications don't work correctly without the current-user registry settings, and those don't get properly created even if you use the run-as functionality.

    Revoking admin rights helps to mitigate the problems, but is much easier to do in a corporate environment (with someone who understands what it means to reduce the privilege levels) than at home.

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    131
    Originally posted here by Timmy77
    Using non-admin rights works, but it's hard to implement at home. Some applications don't work correctly without the current-user registry settings, and those don't get properly created even if you use the run-as functionality.

    Revoking admin rights helps to mitigate the problems, but is much easier to do in a corporate environment (with someone who understands what it means to reduce the privilege levels) than at home.
    i agree. i ran into the same issues when trying the admin/user combo on winxp. unless you tweak the living hell out of it - you are asking for a headache and endless support calls.

    i don't want to make this into a platform war rant - but my linux setup with regular user account and goto escalated root/superuser privaledges for certain tasks has worked perfectly right out of the box from day one!!!!

    i don't understand why a company like microsoft who does have tons of resorces and qualified persons can't look at how open source community do it and dupe the methodology/process involved into getting it to work without the need for endless hours of registry and policy tweaking.
    More cowbell! We need more cowbell!
    http://www.geocities.com/secure_lockdown/
    - - -
    \"Is the firewall there to protect you from the outside world or is it there to protect the outside world from *YOU*?\"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •