Harddisk not being Access
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Harddisk not being Access

  1. #1
    Did someone said Pizza :) FanacooL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Karachi , Pakistan
    Posts
    466

    Question Harddisk not being Access

    My Laptop Harddisk contains bad sector so i got a new harddisk...... But the problem is that i have to get backup from that driver i have tried to attach on USB drive but its not working i mean not being accessed I have applied external power as well as given the HD internal power from the system but no luck in both cases. Note that there is no lan card in the laptop so any suggestion for getting that data.

    Oh yes if i use old harddisk i cannot load windows, i can only access its d and other drives where the data is by booting frm DOS.
    One machine can do the work of fifty ordinary men. No machine can do the work of one extraordinary man!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    172
    if I understand your post correctly, you got a new hard drive for you laptop and it is a USB Drive? or you have a new hard drive and your trying to get information from a USB drive.

    What OS are you running, most USB drives just plug in and the computer reconizes them however to boot from them I believe you have to have an option in your bios about legacy devices.. not sure though, I would have to do some research. If you can clarrify the situation a little more I maybe able to help some more.

  3. #3
    Did someone said Pizza :) FanacooL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Karachi , Pakistan
    Posts
    466
    Nope i think u dont seems to get my point. I want to backup some of the data frm my old harddisk which contain bad sector. I try to attach that harddisk on USB port but wasn't able to gain access rather the system couldn't detect the harddisk. Thats wht i want to know how can i get backup frm it.
    One machine can do the work of fifty ordinary men. No machine can do the work of one extraordinary man!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi Fan~

    1. What operating system are you running
    2. Does the machine have a CD drive? Is it a read-write, or read only.
    3. Does the machine have a 3.5" floppy drive?

    Are we talking a standard hard drive that gets its power from the power supply unit (PSU) and connects to the motherboard with a ribbon cable of some sort?

    There are a variety of possibilities, we just need a few more details.




    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  5. #5
    Did someone said Pizza :) FanacooL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Karachi , Pakistan
    Posts
    466
    Nihil

    1: Windows 2000.
    2: Just Read Only.
    3: Yes offcourse.

    Yeap we are talking abt standard or rather normal harddisk manufacturer IBM.

    Let me explaing a bit more abt the condition of harddisk. As i mentioned earlier before getting the new one this dame HD stopped working. When ever i boot my system sometime it detect it and sometime it doesn't...... When it detect it its too slow i mean the slowest i have ever seen in my entire life. It start booting windows, then after 5-7 mins shows message one or more drive have created bad sectors run scanddisk to fix and then it start doing scandisk forever...... The bad sector is in drive c my docs. are in drive D:. Well when i boot from Bootable CD using DOS mode i can access the other drives i mean D & E easily..... Hope fully u understand the situation now
    One machine can do the work of fifty ordinary men. No machine can do the work of one extraordinary man!

  6. #6
    IT Specialist Ghost_25inf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648
    NTFS of FAT32? Both drives, if new drive is FAT32 and Old Drive is NTFS you wont be able to read it. You might want to check that.
    S25vd2xlZGdlIGlzIHBvd2VyIQ

  7. #7
    Did someone said Pizza :) FanacooL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Karachi , Pakistan
    Posts
    466
    GHOST Ur not getting the point here, well it should be detected first in order to access wht i am saying here is that i laptop is unable to detect it when i attach it externally.......
    One machine can do the work of fifty ordinary men. No machine can do the work of one extraordinary man!

  8. #8
    ********** |ceWriterguy
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,608
    check the usb ports, then the cable/plug, then the controllers - for whatever reason if the drive isn't being detected, either the ports are not working properly, the cable/plug is screwed, it's a controller issue, or the drive is bad. My money is on the ports.
    Even a broken watch is correct twice a day.

    Which coder said that nobody could outcode Microsoft in their own OS? Write a bit and make a fortune!

  9. #9
    Did someone said Pizza :) FanacooL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Karachi , Pakistan
    Posts
    466
    Ports are fine cause i try to attach it on another laptop too.... so ur money wasted here.
    One machine can do the work of fifty ordinary men. No machine can do the work of one extraordinary man!

  10. #10
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hello,

    You might just be able to borrow, or buy a converter to let you connect your drive to a regular desk top PC? as slave/cable select then just copy your data.

    Otherwise, why not try a recovery/diagnostics tool from the HD manufacturer.................that should repair your C:\ partition

    I am sorry I cannot give more details at the moment, as I am under attack................and my "little man" locks the system whilst he tells me about it

    Good luck.........I shall be back once I have sorted out this annoyance
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides