Port fowarding on a Windows NT server?
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Port fowarding on a Windows NT server?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    10

    Question How to foward ports on a Windows NT server?

    Well, I would like to start by introducing myself. Im Eddy, and obiously I'm new here at AntiOnline.

    My question is if port fowarding is allowed in a Windows NT server. And if it is how do I get around to fowarding all incoming and outgoing porst to a single IP adress?

    I'm asking this because I am a student who is kind of incharge of my high school''s network, and I have noticed that lately we have been infected with some trojans. The idea behind fowarding all the ports to a single IP adress is that, to stop the trojans from communicating with its source, I would set up a "fake" IP adress to a non-existing computer so there is no communication flow whatsoever.
    Did I do that??

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,199
    why dont you just close the ports?
    Everyone is going to die, I am just as good of a reason as any.

    http://think-smarter.blogspot.com

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    10
    I have tried blocking the ports, but I find it that every so often they will appear re-opened. So I was hoping that whatever or whom ever is re-opening them will see them as open when they try to use them. I also suspect of internal intrusion, but being in a school and not having full clearanse, I can only do as much as recomending on changing administratinve passwords. And the port forwarding idea, I can defenetly deploy it, if possible.
    Did I do that??

  4. #4
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126
    Stupid Answer :
    Ask to get a update for a Windows 2003 server!

    Good Answer :
    With a thrid party software, you could probably because Win NT 2 himself cannot. But it might cost more that just update to Windows 2003 to buy that software.
    -Simon \"SDK\"

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    10
    :::LOL:::

    Reply to "stupid answer:"
    The school is too cheap to invest money in the a new server. They rather spend money on getting the pricipal a new leather chair.

    --I was thinking if it might be possible to write some kind of a script to do this. For example I know that this can be accoplished with a linux box ussing IPtabbles.
    Did I do that??

  6. #6
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126
    Win NT 4 was release in 1996. Linux is an update to date system, I'm very sure that IPtables were not in Linux in 1996

    If you have only 1 server, the cost of Windows 2003 + 5 Cals is 1000$ US, if you have more that 5 users, Client Access Lience are 40$ Us per Users who access your server.

    You can buy Windows Small Business Server + 5 Cals 2003 for 599$ US. if you have more that 5 users, Client Access Lience are 100$ Us per Users who access your server but with Windows Small Business Server, you get Windows 2003, Exchange 2003, SharePointe Service. Here a link if you are interest.

    Link : http://www.microsoft.com/windowsserv...y/pricing.mspx

    If you need, I can provide you some good link why it's good to change between NT and 2003.

    Good Luck.
    -Simon \"SDK\"

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    10
    True Iptables were not around in 1996, but if I'm not mistaking IPchains where available and IPtables is an upgrade from IPchains...

    Judging from this I think I can only resort to trying to keep those ports closed, and press the Board of Ed. to upgrading the server to Windows 2003.

    Thanks for that link SDK, I think I will present it when I ask for the upgrade.... Also thanks to all the rest for your ideas.
    Did I do that??

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,199
    Dont they have a firewall? If there is no firewall then they are absolut idiots. If there is one then any decent firewall can close ports. have you checked into seeing if there is a reason those ports are open? Perhaps they actually havea purpose and its not accidental that they get reopened
    Everyone is going to die, I am just as good of a reason as any.

    http://think-smarter.blogspot.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •