IR tool I wrote - needs testing

Thread: IR tool I wrote - needs testing

IR tool I wrote - needs testing

I have designed an incident response tool and am currently testing it across a number of platforms. It is designed to gather pertinent data from a compromised Windows machine, and pipe that output through netcat to a linux machine. Several ports are opened to allow the collection machine to place evidence in different files. It has a few problems, such as SysInternals sfind tool entering an endless loop of some kind, and Microsoft's regdump tool doing the same thing.

It has currently been tested only on Windows 2000 machines writing output to Linux machines, in which situation it works relatively well. Testing must be done for other *nix variants such as *BSD and Solaris, with which I have no experience, and with other Windows versions, especially NT and XP. Some problematic lines have been commented out.

Rather than rewriting all the details, I will quote the readme file, which should explain most of it. Microsoft's regdump utility has not been included due to licensing restrictions. The package had to be compressed using the bzip2 algorithm to make it small enough to attach here, however I cannot upload a file with a .bz2 extension. Despite its .gz extension, it is compressed in bzip2 format.

I would appreciate anyone taking the time to test this tool, and also any criticisms and/or suggestions you can provide.
    Also, please let me know if this tool proves useful to you (or if it doesn't work at all).

This is an incident response script designed to be run on Windows machines with x86
    based architectures. It has been tested only on Windows 2000 machines.
    It is designed to be run in parallel with a recieving script, which is run from
    a linux machine on a remote IP address.
    The script on the recieving machine will open up 20 ports, which are all directed to
    different files for the various output that the batch file will generate.