Thread: Vpn???

Vpn???

hello!
    Can someone explain how VPN networks are working??
    I read a lot of articalse from which i understood only that it is a question for encrypted connection. But can you tell me a little more?
    Remember, all I\'m offering is the truth, nothing more.

the beign of authority kurt_der_koenig's Avatar
    Although, I'm still learning networks I find this link to be useful:
    http://computer.howstuffworks.com/vpn.htm

How this clears out the basics

kurt

Thank, I read the artical - that all i know.
    Do you know why I'm confused?
    Because I'm in a big LAN(more than 1000PCs) and I'm connecting to internet through that LAN.
    Our company is starting to assaign VPN to each member of the network. Everything what I read make my think that VPN is an encrypted line for connecting through internet to private LAN, or company network.(do you see the difference I'm in a LAN and I connect trhough that LAN to internet).
    So: my LAN is giving me access to internet, than why I need VPN? How it can help? Am I absolutly wrong?
    P.S. Did you understand something of what i wrote?

A VPN establishes an encrypted tunnel from one network to another via the internet. If your company is assigning you a VPN connection it is likely for inbound traffic, meaning, you will be able to connect to your LAN from a remote PC (home, hotel...etc) via the internet over the VPN. All traffic passing back and forth will be encrypted, therefore providing a level of security to your corporate LAN and the data passing back and forth.

Cheers:
    DjM

We use a VPN for remote backup, as another example of what a VPN can be used for. We outsource one of our backups to Bluepoint, and our data is sent via a VPN unit in our server room. That way our backup data is preserved off-site by a reliable third party and sent to them by a secure means.

Originally posted here by DjM