Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Is this true or Not? (VIRUS)

  1. #1
    Did someone said Pizza :) FanacooL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Karachi , Pakistan

    Is this true or Not? (VIRUS)

    I received this message on one of my group yesterday....... Does anyone here at AO know about this or its just a fake message.....

    If somebody by the name dvorak@yahoo.com adds you...don't accept it.. it's a virus. Tell everybody on ur bulletin because if somebody on ur list adds them, u get the virus too. Tell everyone on ur list not to open anything from angell11, tewwtuler and sassybitch. It is a hard drive killer and a very horrible virus. Pass this letter to everyone on ur buddy list. RIght click on the group name of your buddy list and click Send Messages to EVERYONE

    If its true then howcome adding such ID in your messenger could bring a virus in the system seems difficult to understand can anyone help me..... And even if its not true is there a way a virsu can spread by the same method
    One machine can do the work of fifty ordinary men. No machine can do the work of one extraordinary man!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    That is an instant messenger hoax. Don't get caught up in hoaxes, make sure you research everything before believing things you receive in your email. Hope that helps.
    Sysmin Sys73m47ic
    -The Hacker Pimps
    -Development Team {FuxorWRT}

  3. #3
    Senior Member wiskic10_4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Shouldn't the IM short-hand (i.e. ur, u) have been the first implication that this was a hoax? Who was the message from?

    Really, it helps to be a bit paranoid when dealing w/ security, but c'mon! Would you have really accepted any message from any of these people without knowing them in the first place?

    Just my thoughts...

    My Corner of the Intarwebz: Jeremy Dean Online

  4. #4
    No, by just adding somebody, you couldn't get infected.

    Short and sweet enough ?
    StreetsCrack.com Join The Best Music Social Network Online. Music downloads, promotions, forums, profile, games etc...

  5. #5
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Redondo Beach, CA
    http://www.sophos.com/virusinfo/hoaxes/yahooim.html <-- from google search using address and the word hoax (could also replace hoax with the word virus)
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    its a hoax, its going around myspace.com right now...Im trying to put a stop to it there
    Everyone is going to die, I am just as good of a reason as any.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts