NT 4.0 & WIN2K Firewall options?
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: NT 4.0 & WIN2K Firewall options?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    123

    Question NT 4.0 & WIN2K Firewall options?

    Hey guys, what is a good lightweight firewall for Windows NT 4.0 server and Windows 2000 server? I wish thes products had a built in firewall such as XP and 2k3. I just need something really simple, nothing complicated.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    107
    I would suggest ZoneAlarm. I use it on my XP/2K machines at home, and am quite happy with it.

    www.zonelabs.com
    Alright Brain, you don\'t like me, and I don\'t like you. But let\'s just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer.
    -- Homer S.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    123

    Zonelarm not compatible....

    ZoneAlarm is not compatible with no server products. This will not work on my machines. Any other suggestions?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    107
    I really can't suggest other products because I've only tried ZA. I'm also not sure exactly what you're looking for in terms of how much you're willing to spend, if anything. Other firewalls I've heard of (but never tried) include BlackICE, Norton Firewall, Mcafee Firewall...

    http://www.firewallguide.com/ offers a pretty comprehensive list of firewalls

    Hope this helped,
    -ik
    Alright Brain, you don\'t like me, and I don\'t like you. But let\'s just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer.
    -- Homer S.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Kerio do a quite nice one for Windows 2000 server. I am not sure about NT4, after all it is not really a "current" operating system.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  6. #6
    AO Decepticon CXGJarrod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    2,038

    Re: Zonelarm not compatible....

    Originally posted here by mrlucifer
    ZoneAlarm is not compatible with no server products. This will not work on my machines. Any other suggestions?
    Where did you hear this, as I have had Zonealarm running on servers before? However, MS wants you to get ISA server for your firwalling needs. What are you using these servers for?
    N00b> STFU i r teh 1337 (english: You must be mistaken, good sir or madam. I believe myself to be quite a good player. On an unrelated matter, I also apparently enjoy math.)

  7. #7
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    You might like to look at "Port Monster"

    It will run on NT4.0-Server



    http://www.zsoftweb.com/news.php

    Sorry about that..........the first link was a dud
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •