*sigh* more OS problems (Mandrake 10-1)
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: *sigh* more OS problems (Mandrake 10-1)

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    104

    *sigh* more OS problems (Mandrake 10-1)

    Sorry for the new *problem* threads, as much as I hate to post like this, I don't know where else to go (when Google ain't helpin'.. argh).

    Okay, I'm new to Linux and being so used to Windows it's kinda hard for me.

    Here are my problems:

    1) I can't get eth0 (my ethernet card connected to my cable modem) to start at boot (fails during initialization and won't connect from the wizard in Mandrake KDE without me reconfiguring it every re-boot).

    2) Sometimes, (not sure of the reason, no error messages or log) after KDE loads, I'll try to load a program or shell and it'll just sit there (won't load anything).. logging out/back in usually fixes the problem, but I don't think I should have to do that.

    3) I was trying to shutdown my PC and it wouldn't shutdown (would kick me out of KDE to login screen), I tried to Halt from login screen but it did the same thing. Eventually I just unplugged it.

    4) Some of the software packages didn't install correctly from the CDs, is there a way to install these with a downloaded file or would it work to burn a new CD and install?

    5) When I installed Firefox, there was no default directory so i used user/<username>, and now I'm not sure how to install the JRE(java) plugin to Firefox. I downloaded the file, but when I run it, I get a message saying it's already installed. (Also can't install Limewire due to this.)

    6) Okay, during this session I manually re-did my eth0 connection, and opened Firefox. For some reason nothing else will open now (not sure why).


    Damn, Linux is problematic for me. x_x Thanks again for all the help AO, and sorry for all the trouble.
    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=745
    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=746
    -- Be a part of the team! Join Protochaderin and help us build the game you want to play! --
    - http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...m/devlogo2.gif -

  2. #2
    AO BOFH: Luser Abuser BModeratorFH gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    Seriously, it's Mandrake. It seems to do this for me to which is why I don't use it at all. I can load any other distro on that box and not have a problem, but put Mandrake on, and boom, Eth0 gone. Try SUSE or Slackware and I bet you won't have these problems.

    For the other problems you listed like "I don't know where to install" I'm not baby sitting you for that, RTFM.
    Kill the lights, let the candles burn behind the pumpkins’ mischievous grins, and let the skeletons dance. For one thing is certain, The Misfits have returned and once again everyday is Halloween.The Misfits FreeBSD
    Cannibal Holocaust
    SuSE Linux
    Slackware Linux

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    104
    I would have used Slackware, but it froze during installation every time (tried burning new CDs, restarting, w/e).

    The box I am on now is completely stripped (it was free, so I was going to use it as a test server so I don't screw up my regular PC). I installed mandrake by ripping the HDD out and putting it into my main PC and installing, then putting it back in my old box and tweek'n the hardware settings a little.

    The only drive I have on this PC is an external DVD+RW drive, which it won't boot from.


    And as for the manual, I have been reading parts of it. I need to print a hard-copy or something and read through it. I'm just lazy I guess.


    If I can find a way to install Slackware I'll probably end up doing that, though.
    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=745
    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=746
    -- Be a part of the team! Join Protochaderin and help us build the game you want to play! --
    - http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...m/devlogo2.gif -

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    373
    I installed mandrake by ripping the HDD out and putting it into my main PC and installing, then putting it back in my old box and tweek'n the hardware settings a little.
    Which box are you having problems with? Your main one or the one you are going to use as your server? Why don't you try to install and run it on the box that you are going to use it on.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    104
    My alternate PC is the one with the problems, and the only PC I have running Mandrake.

    I'm not installing to my main PC atm, because I want to get to know the OS before I transfer over completely (or semi-completely). I want to build this box into a small server, secure it (or attempt to), then slap it around a little with my main PC and see how it goes.. then I'll patch the holes and start over, ect.. until I think I know the system well enough. Then I may or may not switch over to Linux on my main PC.
    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=745
    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=746
    -- Be a part of the team! Join Protochaderin and help us build the game you want to play! --
    - http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...m/devlogo2.gif -

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    373
    After boot up run the command "dmesg" without the quotes. See if there are any error messages. This command will show the complete boot up process. Let us know what the errors are.
    You will probably want to use the command "dmesg | less" so you can use your arrow keys to scroll up and down.

  7. #7
    AO BOFH: Luser Abuser BModeratorFH gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    Did you bother checking if your hardware was supported? From the sounds of it you went in and didn't even look at the manual and then it blew up in your face. And of course Mandrake is ****. I've had so many problems with 10.X and even 9X I don't bother using it.
    Kill the lights, let the candles burn behind the pumpkins’ mischievous grins, and let the skeletons dance. For one thing is certain, The Misfits have returned and once again everyday is Halloween.The Misfits FreeBSD
    Cannibal Holocaust
    SuSE Linux
    Slackware Linux

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    104
    Nope, didn't check if hardware was supported.

    I hadn't looked at the manual much aside from finding a few commands here and there. The box I'm running Mandrake on was completely empty before this, and I burned the install disks myself.. so no loss if I have to shutdown the 'project' and move on to something else.

    Guess my n00bly-ness strikes again.


    Even if it could be a hardware problem, I don't see why it would load and work perfectly one time then crap-out another. x_x
    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=745
    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=746
    -- Be a part of the team! Join Protochaderin and help us build the game you want to play! --
    - http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...m/devlogo2.gif -

  9. #9
    AO BOFH: Luser Abuser BModeratorFH gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    straw that broke the Hardware's back.
    Kill the lights, let the candles burn behind the pumpkins’ mischievous grins, and let the skeletons dance. For one thing is certain, The Misfits have returned and once again everyday is Halloween.The Misfits FreeBSD
    Cannibal Holocaust
    SuSE Linux
    Slackware Linux

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    104
    Ran 'dmesg', no errors during boot.

    "eth0: no IPv6 routers present", would that be what's causing eth0 to not load?
    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=745
    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=746
    -- Be a part of the team! Join Protochaderin and help us build the game you want to play! --
    - http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...m/devlogo2.gif -

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides