dos or ddos

Thread: dos or ddos

dos or ddos

i hear people use dos and ddos almost interchangably and i know that dos stands for denial of service and that ddos stands for distributed denial of service, but whats the difference between the two? i know what they generally do, but the explanations for dos and ddos that i've found on google seem to be exactly the same. is a dos from one comp and a ddos from a bunch of zombie comps or something?

I may be completely wrong seeing as I'm a noob to this area, but I believe the simplest way to put it would be:

DOS: attack from 1 IP

DDOS: attack from multiple IPs (spoofed, multi-boxed, or w/e)
    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=745
    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=746
    -- Be a part of the team! Join Protochaderin and help us build the game you want to play! --
    - http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...m/devlogo2.gif -

********** |ceWriterguy
    What Winds said is correct -

Dos == denial of service.

DDos == distributed denial of service.

DDos is the tougher attack to fend off, depending on the resources available to them and you.
    Even a broken watch is correct twice a day.

Which coder said that nobody could outcode Microsoft in their own OS? Write a bit and make a fortune!

And then regardles of which type of attack was used the descriptive is DOS ..ie " the website was off due to DOS attacks"
    "Consumer technology now exceeds the average persons ability to comprehend how to use it..give up hope of them being able to understand how it works." - Me http://www.cybercrypt.co.nr

AO Senior Cow-beller
    The concept has been a bit difficult for some people to grasp. DDoS is to DOS like a Middle Linebacker is to a Linebacker. Did that help? Probably not. Winds is right. DDoS simply means the Denial Of Service attack is using more than one source to impinge the target, thus *distributed*.