Can spybot work with Firefox?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Can spybot work with Firefox?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    58

    Question Can spybot work with Firefox?

    Hey guys.

    I just recently got Firefox installed, along with Spybot. I had Spybot blocking spyware on IE, but I noticed it doesn't do it with Firefox. Is there a way I can make Spybot work with Firefox?
    \"I ONLY DRINK THE BLOOD OF MY ENEMIES....and maybe a strawberry yoohoo....and a...Pina Co-la-da!...
    If you like pina coladas....ugh!, gettin\' caught in the rain....ugh!\"
    -Sarge

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    253
    I use SpyBot 1.3 and have Firefox 1.0 as my default browser.
    SpyBot 's blocking capability works for me.

  3. #3
    The Doctor Und3ertak3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,744
    The description of Spyware is too dambed broad.. are we talking Cookies, activeX components...trojans.. etc etc


    What Spyware Isn't Spybot blocking for you in firefox?
    "Consumer technology now exceeds the average persons ability to comprehend how to use it..give up hope of them being able to understand how it works." - Me http://www.cybercrypt.co.nr

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    58
    Nothing. It isn't blocking anything. I think the problem is that I installed spybot a couple of days before I got firefox...so Spybot's been blocking IE. Fox is my default browser, yet bots not blocking it.
    \"I ONLY DRINK THE BLOOD OF MY ENEMIES....and maybe a strawberry yoohoo....and a...Pina Co-la-da!...
    If you like pina coladas....ugh!, gettin\' caught in the rain....ugh!\"
    -Sarge

  5. #5
    StOrM™
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,003
    Greeting's

    Try spywareblaster from javacoolsoftware, it has ability to block spyware for both Firefox and IE.

    get it here: www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html

    I also suggest you installing spywareguard just for some extra protection

    www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareguard.html

    Hope this help's
    Parth Maniar,
    CISSP, CISM, CISA, SSCP

    *Thank you GOD*

    Greater the Difficulty, SWEETER the Victory.

    Believe in yourself.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    253
    AdawareSEPlus , IMO, does a better job blocking malware than the free SpyWareBlaster.

  7. #7
    Maybe firefox didnt let any spyware through yet, it's not the same as IE ....
    StreetsCrack.com Join The Best Music Social Network Online. Music downloads, promotions, forums, profile, games etc...

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    58
    Maybe firefox didnt let any spyware through yet, it's not the same as IE ....
    Oh, it did. Using IE with Spybot didn't let anything though. As soon as I started using firefox, I got gator and stuff.


    BTW, I'll try ur suggestions, thanks guys.
    \"I ONLY DRINK THE BLOOD OF MY ENEMIES....and maybe a strawberry yoohoo....and a...Pina Co-la-da!...
    If you like pina coladas....ugh!, gettin\' caught in the rain....ugh!\"
    -Sarge

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    You will not get the spyware that is injected into your system using exploits with firefox. BECAUSE THEY ARE IE BASED!!!

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    53
    first, we need to clear something up.

    SPYWARE does not magically get injected into your system. You have to click "Yes" somewhere. Maybe it's ActiveX which is asking you to click yes to run something on a website (which firefox won't allow). Maybe it's a java prompt asking you to install a java file on a website. Maybe its a program you installed that also installs spyware on the side (official aim client, for instance).

    But it does NOT suddenly appear out of no where.

    You did not get Gator from Firefox. You got gator because you allowed yourself to be fooled into clicking YES or INSTALL from a website that you should not have trusted.

    Don't allow websites you don't trust 100% to install ANYTHING.

    Don't allow programs you don't trust 100% to install ANYTHING.

    The teatimer for spybot only works for IE, but all it does is prevent those CLICK YES popup windows from sites it knows that isn't to be trusted. Same for programs that would install spyware. teatimer won't allow them to install. However, firefox stops 95% of all spyware by not allowing you to ever use the security hole known as ActiveX. But, it still does show the pop-ups from sites that want you to install java-based software and the likes.

    It's up to you to start clicking NO, stop installing spyware-filled programs (the official aim client), and turn off Java in Firefox unless you need it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides