fsckin' images!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: fsckin' images!

  1. #1
    the beign of authority kurt_der_koenig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    567

    Talking fsckin' images!

    Damn it!

    I've been playing around with my website for the past couple days. Trying some new stuff out, making it look better. Nothing 'new' but oh well. I switched my host from freewebs.com to freespaces.com.

    All is well until I want to open a image up. I have a section on my page that shows some of my pictures and it works perfectly but thats were it ends. In Mozilla Firefox, when I open the image link up it shows the images source as if I opening the picture up in notepad. In IE it doesn't do that. Also, what makes it weird is that Firefox opens the pictures up perfectly on my old host. .

    I can just link it from my old host but I really don't want to.

    Any ideas? the site---> http://kurtderkoenig.freespaces.com

    Thanx,
    kurt

  2. #2
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126
    For your info: In IE, the images load in a new windows. Not normal behavior for IE.
    -Simon \"SDK\"

  3. #3
    the beign of authority kurt_der_koenig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    567
    For your info: In IE, the images load in a new windows. Not normal behavior for IE.
    ????? Yeah, thats how I designed it! Also in IE! But has nothing to do with this as IE has no problem with this... And it worked perfectly on the last host.

  4. #4
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    Complain to the webmaster. They have the MIME type set wrong.
    Ironically, IE doesn't follow the standard and is more forgiving
    of a misconfigured server.
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    128
    /me agrees with rcgreen

    quick solution:

    <html>
    <head>
    <title>Welcome to Kurt_der_koenig</title>
    </head>
    <body>
    <img src="http://kurtderkoenig.freespaces.com/10.jpg" border="0" width="888" height="585">
    </body>
    </html>


    not much of a web developer, but it seems that this may just work (oh, and you can set the topic !)
    http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affili...88x31/take.gif
    If You\'ve Done Something Right. People Wont Know You\'ve Done Anything At All - God (futurama)

  6. #6
    the beign of authority kurt_der_koenig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    567
    Damn IE . Yeah I just thought I would expand a little here to see what you guys think before I do such a thing. Maybe it was something I was doing that I wasn't aware of but I see that is not so. Thanx

    edit**

    /me agrees with rcgreen
    quick solution:

    <html>
    <head>
    <title>Welcome to Kurt_der_koenig</title>
    </head>
    <body>
    <img src="http://kurtderkoenig.freespaces.com/10.jpg" border="0" width="888" height="585">
    </body>
    </html>

    not much of a web ,developer but it seems that this may just work (oh, and you can set the topic !)
    What? Make individual pages for the images? pfff. Don't want to go that route! And you don't have to put my whole address to have the picture show up, just the picture name. But thanx anyways.

    kurt

  7. #7
    AO French Antique News Whore
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,126
    Your provider insert some code at the end of your website. That probably the problem.
    -Simon \"SDK\"

  8. #8
    the beign of authority kurt_der_koenig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    567
    Yeah, they inserted their ad code. It doesn't show-up because of the way I designed it. This wouldn't effect my pictures as they show up perfectly in the page. But when opened up as an image alone is the problem with the host. I will follow suit of what rcgreen said.

  9. #9
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    Code:
    [rcgreen@rcgreen rcgreen]$ wget -v kurtderkoenig.freespaces.com/5.jpg
    --21:03:04--  http://kurtderkoenig.freespaces.com/5.jpg
               =&gt; `5.jpg'
    Connecting to kurtderkoenig.freespaces.com:80... connected!
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: unspecified [text/html]
    
        0K .......... .......... .......... .......... .......... @   4.58 KB/s
       50K .......... .......... ..........                       @   4.74 KB/s
    
    21:03:22 (4.64 KB/s) - `5.jpg' saved [82285]
    Yeah, it says text/html
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

  10. #10
    the beign of authority kurt_der_koenig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    567
    Ah the mighty wget. By the way, how do you pronounce wget? lol

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •