Motherboard issue.
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Motherboard issue.

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747

    Motherboard issue.

    I posted this a while back ,but I think it got delted when they pruned the hardware forums.

    I have a Gigabyte GA-81915P Duo Pro a motherboard with a LGA775 socket.

    I have a P4 3.0 LGA 775 proccessor, Corsair XMS DDR 333 and a Geforce 6600 Video card on the PCI x16 bus.

    heres the problem.

    I cannot get it to boot from the CD-ROM drive.

    This is the second motherboard I got cause we had the same problem with the first one.

    If the CD-ROM drive is in the secondary or third IDE channel, it will not boot from it. If I put the CD-ROM on the First IDE channel and the HD on the 2'nd or third IDE channel, it will boot from the CD, but it won't recognize the HD.

    Does anyone have any ideas about this cause I am truly stumped.
    =

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    510
    Have you tried another CD drive? That's wierd. Does it recognize the CD in the BIOS when it won't boot from it? Maybe check through their BIOS revision list for a clue. They replaced it under warranty?
    \"You got a mouth like an outboard motor..all the time putt putt putt\" - Foghorn Leghorn

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Yes tried another CD.

    When I first turn on the computer and its going through the IDE channels it shows my HD, and it shows a ATAPI CD-ROM drive which is whats in there, but it won't boot from it.
    =

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    510
    Found this

    http://www.ntcompatible.com/thread30092-1.html

    Maybe you need to play with the SATA settings. I don't know if this will help in your case or not. Good luck.
    \"You got a mouth like an outboard motor..all the time putt putt putt\" - Foghorn Leghorn

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Nope nothing there that helped.

    This problem is bugging the **** out of me.

    I can not figure out what the deal is.

    Maybe gigabyte will get back to me. lol
    =

  6. #6
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,325
    I had an older box that would do this too. Even though I had the CD in the boot order, and a bootable CD... it would never boot to it.

    I had to make boot floppies. Then call the cd from there...

    Now, that doesn't help you when you're trying to run knoppix or other boot cds...

    Did you check for a BIOS update?

    Also, check the jumpers on the HDs and CDROMs.

    Don't use the CS, actually set them to master and slave.
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Yeah I have the HD set to Master, and the CD-Rom set to master.

    I'll try making a boot disk then accessing the drive directly.

    I'm pretty sure I have the latest Bios version, but I'll double check that.
    =

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Sorry bout the double post but I got it figured out.

    Turns out that IDE 1 is for CD-ROMs only

    IDE 2 and 3 is a hardware raid so I had to load up the device drivers to get the drives to be recognized by XP set up.

    Thanks for the help guys.
    =

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •