Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Possible Cell Phone Scam

Possible Cell Phone Phishing?

Hey Hey...

Disclaimer: I have no idea where this thread should be placed, or how it will go... I've placed it here because it currently involves cell phones and only cell phones that I know about.

Story: Most of you know that I'm a student... or you do now anyways... So on Tuesday we're sitting in class and a guys cell phone rings... It's a 305 area code so he ignores it. Then on Wednesday another guys cell phone rings and it's the same area code 305 number. Then yesterday my phone rang (for the sake of this let's say my number is ABC-0805) and it was the same 305 number. Then my girlfriend came home from work last night and said she'd missed a call on her cell phone (ABC-0807) and it was the same number again.. Since mine and hers both have the same starting and were close together I'm wondering if it's some sort of auto dial. The number (since I don't mind sharing ones like this) is: 1-305-675-6263. We couldn't find anything on google, but maybe you've heard of something, or will have better luck than I have. We also tried calling the number and go a modem... and being the household of computer geeks that we are, we attempted to dial in from a terminal... We couldn't get it to accept the connection though.. I'm wondering if it's A) a fax machine or B) a computer dialing out with it's recorded message set to not accept incoming calls... The only reason I find it weird is it does pick up, rather than just ignoring the call.